amanda j

supercalifragiwhatsit

Posted on: July 6, 2008

I am sitting here in my chair, being so incredibly lazy today! So lazy that I am watching/listening to some kind of tribute to the ABC covering ANZAC marches. It is not ANZAC Day, and the program is a year old, so it is actually 51 years of coverage . . . I usually quite like the ABC on Sunday afternoons, starting with Landline and then on from there. I have learned about irrigation, planting green gages and scholarships for young indigenous boys! I have also sung along to some rousing wartime songs! Wish me luck as you wave me goodbye . . . Ooh, what’s this – a cultural exchange between indigenous Australians and Ugandans! Cool! I guess I can justify all of this television – it is research for school. IT SO IS!

I have been adding to my Woodland Shawlette at great speed. I have finally memorised the leaf pattern and can keep track of the yos and pssos without having to check the pattern. I am quite happy with the way it is progressing, although I always feel that my yos are a trifle messy. I think they will be fine once I block.

There have been five more repeats added since I took this photo.

I finished the second Wicked within a week, which isn’t bad considering I have been at work! I am very happy with it. What do you think?

This photo was taken after a day at work, and the bottom band is a little stretched out. It seems that Jet does not hold shape as well as Cascade. But Cascade seems to get a bit fuzzy.

Yesterday we had another Tassie Knitters meeting, which was a good deal of fun. It was fantastic to catch up with everyone and have a chat. I started some socks for my father in law who will turn 70 in August. I am contemplating knitting more socks for my mother in law who has a birthday at the end of July. In amongst this however I am planning on knitting Juno Regina for the Ravelymics (Ravelry link). I was going to make another Clapotis (and even bought the yarn for it – more on that later!) but the Spunk reminded me I should do something challenging and while that much stocking stitch is challenging on some levels, I think I have struck a nice balance with this pattern choice. I already have the yarn, so now I just have to wait for the opening ceremony!

I have been spending a bit of time thinking about the Olympics this year, for various reasons. First of all, we are learning about ancient Olympics compared to modern Olympics at school. We will also be looking at Chinese culture and how it is reflected in the staging of the Olympics. We will also need to cover some political issues. Like 2paw, the whole thing leaves me a bit uneasy this year. I generally love to watch the Olympics – I am not a huge sports fan but enjoy the pomp and ceremony of it all. However I can’t ignore the underlying issues . . . anyhoo, back to knitting content.

I finished a little jumper my friend’s son – a birthday boy. This was a fantastic little knit and I would make it again. This is the yarn I ‘acquired’ from school. I am going to confess to the donator of the yarn that I used it in this manner. In an interesting twist of fate, the donator taught my friend and me when we were in Grade 7! Oh what a small world I live in!

I also finished some socks which were supposed to be mine but they are kind of baggy and odd, so Mother can have them! Her feet are bigger than mine!

Speaking of Mother, she is awaiting our first ever purchase from Bendigo! She bought Green Tweed for herself and Damson for me. Aren’t I spoiled? We are going to make a Shalom cardigan each! I also bought something for myself this week. I needed the lift! I BOUGHT 4 SKEINS OF MALABRIGO!! WATCH THIS SPACE!!!

And now, I have to move from the chair. Tiny Madam has decided it is the perfect time to watch Mary Poppins. For the fifteen kabillionth time! I love Mary as much as the next person, but having lived through Little Purl’s obsession with the movie, and now moving into my second child who would watch it back to back all day if allowed, my patience is a little thin!

I want to share this with you! It is flipping brilliant . . .

8 Responses to "supercalifragiwhatsit"

oh your shawlette is exactly what I’ve been looking for! I love it. Thank you. It shall be made!

Wicked looks great. That’s very, very fast and I like it as an over top.

Am with you on the Sunday afternoon ABC viewing. I just love it, even if not every week is riveting. I feel kind of calm and centered after a couple of hours of Sunday ABC.

I had to look up the woodland shawlette…Ohhh Ahhh …leafy goodness. I may have to have one for myself. 😉

Lovely shawl Amanda. Wicked looks great too. The socks are nice and the little jumper is so cute. I watched ABC last night, Ben Valentine which was an okay little movie. I also love watching Grand Designs which is on a Tuesday morning and Thursday night, and Andrew Denton too, I think he is a great interviewer.

Love the second Wicked – just one thing off the neeles and it will be mine!! – So glad you fell for the Malabrigo!! I’m doing a 2paw qith my wicked – making a green one!

Headphones – and you keep the remote so that the child involved doesn’t crank up the volume. But you can let the little dears enjoy their movies without taking out all of your own hair!

Malabrigo… oh the temptation of other people’s yarn….

And Wicked II is of course — Too Wicked!!
:>

yeah yeah yeah…lovely knitting. Now to the important stuff. That clip from youtube was totally brilliant. I will never view Mary the same way again. Although you had to know there was somthing a but”funny” about the whole thing when Dick van Dyke picked that accent and then sang in it. Creepy stuff!!!

Leave a comment

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 42,494 hits