amanda j

we have a sockapawinna!

Posted on: May 13, 2007

After far too much time deliberating, I have decided to share what I am knitting for my Sockapalooza pal – I will be making Tropicana from www.magknits.com! I started last night but thought that I knew better than the designer and cast on 66 stitches instead of 55. I knitted quite a bit – four repeats – and decided to rip it out because it looked huge. Has anyone knitted these socks? Will 55 stitches be enough? What I did realise was that I love the yarn. Yay for Katt. She has some yarns for sale – go have a look! Her link is in my sidebar. The laptop is playing up and I can’t link.

I had a lovely Mother’s Day with some new dpns, a crochet hook (oh no, bicraftuality may be occuring soon!) and some Heirloom sock yarn. These were small gifts from my kids because of the Postal Saga. Mother has offered to go and pick up my parcels at any time which is fantastic – she will be going down to the shops tomorrow, and the Super Spunk will collect it from her tomorrow afternoon.

Speaking of Mum, in a reversal of fortune, she cooked us breakfast AND gave me a pair of knitted socks! I knitted her a pair last year – in fact I was sitting on her couch knitting them on Mother’s Day morning! She didn’t get any this year, instead I bought her yarn to make her own, plus a Chibi! I want a Chibi too! Here is a picture of the socks she knitted me, which we will call Imperial Snow Stormtrooper Socks simply because that’s what they remind me of:

Guess what? I finished a pair of socks. That puts me one step closer to the Koigu! These are from ‘Diagonal Cross Rib’ by Ann Budd from Favorite Socks, knitted with Socks That Rock lightweight in the Fairgrounds colourway. This yarn is amazing, if you haven’t tried it you should! It is so soft and squishy and feels like absolute luxury on my feet. The yarn did not behave itself as far as the pooling and the flashing, but I can live with that. The pattern calls for size 3.25mm needles for the upper leg, and 2.75mm for the foot. I knitted the whole socks with 2.25mm dpns and they are not tight. These would have fit an elephant if I had taken their advice. I knit all my socks with 2.25mm needles. It works for me. Here they are:

With the Heirloom I cast on a toe up sock, which is destined for the Super Spunk. I have never knitted with this yarn and the jury is still out. Here is said sock so far:

This is the result of a couple of hours of book listening. I am almost at the end of 4th of July by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro, which is 8 discs long. An hour to go. It’s quite good. Next I will listen to Lifeguard also by James Patterson, this time with Andrew Gross. I hope the reader has a pleasant voice. Eight hours is a long time. My eyes will be treated too! My reserved copy of The Friday Night Knitting Club arrived at the library and was picked up yesterday. I finished Cell by Stephen King so that’s next on the list. I will let you all know what I think. I know there have been mixed reviews.

Happy Mother’s Day!

13 Responses to "we have a sockapawinna!"

You have made me hum the Darth Vader Theme tune now: it’s an ear worm!!! Nice Tropicana socks, the pattern is esyish but looks great. Good choice. And look at all the other sock action: and socks for you too!!! I always use 2.25mm and cast on 72 stitches for me, but I am a tight knitter so the socks are smaller and shorter than you would think!! The Heirloom loooks very colourful. I have never used it wither. Glad you had a good day!!!

I find the needle and yarn choices pretty flexible. Part of me thinks that saying what the stitch count and gauge were for a pair of socks you really like (that fit you well) would be more useful than actual measurements. If you like your socks with more negative ease, this is very handy!

And a Happy Mother’s Day to you! It’s nearly noon here and I’ve done nothing except read the newspaper, talk to my mother by phone, drink coffee and have oatmeal! So far a great day!! Good luck with your socks. And the socks pictured are beautiful. I’m with you: I SO want to knit and quilt for a living. I’ll be checking in with you frequently.

OMG its the SOCK WOOL FROM HELL!!!!!!!!!! The Heirloom sock wool is the wool I kept having to freaken knit up for Kerry..Into BABY socks!!!

I am so glad you like the Buggy wool! I am gonna dye up some more for sale..As well as other colourways to add. Thanks for the plug! 😀

Socks all look great too!

Katt

I love the diagonal cross rib socks! They were among the final choices for my step-dad’s Christmas in May socks. But my husband chose the ultimate pattern: Gentlemen’s Socks with Lozenge Pattern, in Knitting Vintage Socks. Anyway, back to you: Those are so pretty! The yarn didn’t pool too much–no one will notice at all. They’ll just be jealous 🙂

I love your fraternal ‘Diagonal Cross Rib’ socks – such a happy colour way as one would expect from a fairground! 🙂 The Heirloom socks are looking really good, cna’t wait to see them finished.

Happy Mothers’ Day to you.

http://www.2hot2knit.blogspot.com

Phew..just as well you knew to change down needle sizes. Imagine how awful a new knitter would feel with elephantitis socks!

The socks you knitted are ADORABLE!!!

The socks look great and I love the pattern choice for sockapalooza. I haven’t tried that one but, it’s on my list.

Hi! I have a request for you. I would like to knit that pattern for my pal, she has tiny feet . Could you tell me how many stitches did you cast on and, if available, I would like to know your size and the circomference at the ball of the foot. Thank you kindly.

I’ve just started the Tropicana pattern in my April STR Silie yarn. I did do the 55 stitches, I wear a woman’s medium sock and they seem to be just right (I’m using 2 circs so I tried them on. I’m not sure I like the top edge with no ribbing. All the photos look fine, but just on the needles it looks curly. We’ll see.

My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I quite like looking through an article that will make people
think. Also, many thanks for permitting me
to comment!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
