amanda j

sew this is my knitting

Posted on: January 4, 2009

You might notice a couple of changes around here. I was beginning to feel my blog was looking a little dark, so I have changed themes. And, the name of my blog too – I still heart knitting a heck of a lot, but seem to have broadened my horizons lately. I think it looks good – I hope you agree.

There are some photos to show you today! I have been enjoying some quiet time at home and have been fairly productive over the past couple of days. I also bought myself a camera (finally!) and have taken some happy snaps of my work.

Sewing – a wrap skirt and an apron. The skirt is for me and the apron is part of a gift that Purl is putting together for her friend’s 16th – how cute! A baking kit!

mind the early onset bunions

mind the early onset bunions

There has been knitting, as usual. Socks in progress:
Zigzag Lace

Zigzag Lace

Spunk Socks

Spunk Socks

Embossed Leaves

Embossed Leaves

I also found myself in Spotlight today (surprised? Perhaps not!) and bought more fabric. Some to make curtains for the bathroom, some to add to fat quarters to make aprons for birthday presents and my absolute favourite is this:
Too cool for school!

Too cool for school!

I am going to make a skirt out of this fabric, and wear it on Fridays so that when I have to talk in assembly the Grade 9s will have something to do! Not that they don’t love to listen to me going on about this and that, but seriously! I absolutely love love this fabric!
And to add some cute, check out these bugs. Our good friends gave Tiny Madam a Chicken Socks pack for Christmas, and we got to make bugs out of pipe cleaners and beads. It was very much fun! Then, you fold the book around on itself and it becomes a house!! If you have kids, or know kids, I would recommend these packs as gifts. They are terrific!
Time for tea!

Time for tea!

Despite all the exclamation marks I have put in today’s post, I am feeling quite sad because Auntie died this morning. It was expected, but part of me feels like it is a chapter closing on my childhood – all the important elders are gone now.

I think tomorrow we will go the beach and have a picnic and blow some sadness away in the sea breeze. Sounds lovely don’t you think?

12 Responses to "sew this is my knitting"

Oh, I am sad to hear about your auntie. Have a lovely time at the beach, I think the weather is supposed to be quite OK!!
I noticed all the changes straught away on your blog. Very bright and beezy. I love love love your skirt and apron!!! And the fabric is beautiful!! That will certainly make a fabulous skirt.

OK, I meant straight, I can usually spell well, but I am a less than adequate typist!!

I’m sorry to hear about your Auntie, it’s never easy news, expected or not. But I love the fabric for the new skirt, and all your socks!

Love the apron – so sweet! And the fabric for your Friday skirt is great!

Sorry to hear about your Auntie – even expected deaths still leave you feeling down – hope you are all doing ok.

Love the skirt and the apron! Your socks are lovely! So varied in their colors and styles. I love that.

Sorry to hear about your Auntie.

So sorry that you have lost your auntie. It’s never expected, even when it is and we’re never really prepared.

Hope the beach provided the solace needed.

I’m so sorry to hear about auntie. Have some cyber *hugs*. A day at the beach sounds good for clearing the sadness.

I love the new look for your blog. The ‘school’ fabric made me smile as did the comments about Grade 9.

Oh I am so sorry to hear about your auntie. It must be hard for you to have no more important elders in your life. I felt like that when my nan passed away when I was 27 and she was the last grandparent I felt close to. I have to say that I love your new blog look and it is so much easier to read too. I always find black blogs are harder to read and take longer to upload on my screen for some reason. I do hope that your 2009 is a great one too.

I’m sorry you have lost your Auntie.

I am loving those embossed leaves socks. You are going to have toasty feet this winter.

Happy New Year Amanda!! I love that apron you sew!!! It’s so pretty!!

Im sorry to hear about your Aunty. Its sad to lose family.
It looks like you ve mad full use of the holiday break! I spent a lot of time spinning and meant to drag out the machine but didnt quite make it.I do have three,no four quilt to wad and quilt before next winter so knowing how much time I do have I should get moving!!

Sorry to hear about your Auntie 😦 biggest hugs to you from us.

Love the new look. Noticed it right off the bat. Looks good.

Love the knitting..Love the sewing..and how excellent is that that Purl is doing a baking kit for a friend!!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
