amanda j

you know how some songs . . .

Posted on: December 29, 2008

. . . just get you going? I have a few songs like that. Groove is in the Heart is a particular favourite as a pick-me-up. Don’t Dream It’s Over makes me want to cry. I can’t help dancing to Superstition (holy moly this one combines Stevie with Sesame Street! They are outside Hooper’s Store! Check it!).

This is a song that takes me back to being a little girl and I love it. I think I may just be a redneck hillbilly on the inside. What with this, Kenny Rogers and a bit of Dr Hook thrown in, there was never much hope!

Thanks so much for all the birthday wishes. It was a lovely birthday. I was spoilt rotten – I even got presents from some students. One lovely lot bought me a snowflake for my Pandora bracelet and another lot bought me a little Eeyore! They are both Chamilia beads rather than Pandora but they fit my bracelet just fine. I also got two beads from my Dad and his wife and the Spunk gave me another one for Christmas, so it’s nearly full now!

School finished well and we are on holidays. The first few days were spent shopping like mad people because as of the 19th of December we had bought two things total for Christmas and had no money. Thanks to Mr Rudd, we didn’t have to cancel holidays and now the Spunk will not have to go back to waiting tables to get us through the summer! Hooray. Thanks Kevin. Not sure about the welfare debate and so forth, but we really needed the money and have not wasted any of it. Nintendo DSes are an important necessity!

We hosted Christmas lunch this year, and it all went rather swimmingly. We cooked the day before and just had to dish up. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  Before this we had already had two Christmasses, as the Spunk’s mother was going away so we had dinner with her on the 21st, then went to the Spunk’s father on the 22nd to see stepbrother and wife and four kids, then had guests on the 24th. Christmas night we went to Mother’s for tea and see my brother and his partner, then back to Spunk’s Dad’s on Boxing Day and then Dad’s wife’s 50th on the 27th! I won’t say anything about divorced parents because I don’t want to upset anyone. Just . . . well, no wonder we need a few days r and r!

I made wash cloths for the kids’ teachers and for the various mothers, step mothers and mothers in law that we seem to collect around here. This is the only knitting I did for Christmas this year. It made life a lot easier! Washcloths go much quicker than socks.

Our cats have learned to get along quite well most of the time, which is great. I was worried that the youngest would have to be ‘free to a good home’ for a while there, but they have made at the very least a truce. Say hi to Mickie

I  mentioned that I had been secret sewing for Christmas. The Tiny Madam had a very bad ear ache the week before Christmas and I felt so sorry for her I gave her the doll early:

This doll was made using a Wee Wonderfulls pattern, and I would highly recommend it. Very easy with fantastic clear instructions.

Here I am working on building my doll’s house. I collected all 100 parts of this many years ago when it was released through the newsagency. Then it sat in a box. I got it all out and checked for pieces and cleared myself a spot ‘downstairs’. I was missing one, so I made another bit for it! How very crafty of me!

The Spunk has some new socks:

I am knitting away at a pair of Embossed Leaves socks which will go to mother in law 2 for her birthday later this month, and the orange socks that just keep keeping on. I finished the first one of those the other night and will cast on for the second tonight I think.

I have also ordered yarn from Bendigo to knit Rogue for myself. Hopefully it will come in time for me to take this knitting away with me – we are heading to Bicheno on the east coast for a few nights. I can’t wait! Hopefully the weather will improve because it has been quite rubbish.

No resolutions for me yet, how about you?

Seven more comments and I hit 1000!

9 Responses to "you know how some songs . . ."

Moda Vera socks?

My, you are the clever crafty one, aren’t you?

I hope the weather is good for you in Bicheno and in February; DD and SIL2B will be honeymooning in Tasmania then!

So much exciting stuff has happened at your place!!!
Nice thoughful presents, both received and given.
Great forbearance with the Christmases.
Happy Birthday.
Oh a kitten!! Ooohh!!
Nice doll. Does she have a name?? Hope TM is feeling better.
Oh my friend MrsHouseof collected that house and very clever you are to make a missing part.
Nice socks, even if they were a bit of a splitty trial.
Oh orange?? Oh Rogue!!!!!
I want to knit a Hemlock Ring blanket on 12ply from Bendigo before I use my proper wool.
Happy 1000 comments (In anticipation)
No resolutions. I only break them. I suppose I could aim to Pat The Labradors more ftne!!!

Spoilt for your birthday, sounds good to me. Glad you had a good xmas. Love the kitty, how cute is he. The doll turned out very nicely. I hope your daughter’s ear infection is better, they are very painful things to have. The apple dishcloths look great too. Hope you have a wonderful New Year Amanda and good health too for 2009!!

Ohhhhhhhhh kitty!!!
I am glad they have come to a truce and Mickie is gorgeous.

Enjoy the rest after all the Christmas get togethers.

Wonderful craftiness – I’ve been crafty too but not so much as you!

Mr Rudd gave me money too – very kind of him!

Happy new Year!

Not so much a resolution as a mantra – “Put it away, not down” – 2009 I will be cured of untidiness! Happy New Year. 🙂

OOOOOhhhhh! Its me!!!!!!!!! Hugs – we were in Bicheno 2 years ago and had no idea how to pronounce it!
(jumpingup and down for joy!)

looks like I am 1001 on the first day of 2009! Glad your holidays were happy.

You are a machine!
How did you even REMEMBER all of that?
I only had one pre Christmas dinner and I managed to double book myself!
I know someone with the dolls house you are making. she is dismantling hers and using every piece as a template to make hers twice the size. She “acquired” too many gorgeous pieces to fill just one house!!!!
I can make a pretty cool miniature bear skin rug if you ever need one!(no miniature animals will be harmed!)

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
