amanda j

gifty talk

Posted on: December 13, 2008

I had better start with some knitting news. I finished my Secret Santa knitting for our Tassie Knitters group – a pair of socks for Katt. I agonised over what to knit, and I think she was happy. Knitting for knitters is stressful! It came down to the wire – I was weaving in ends that morning, as usual. I forgot to take pictures, so hopefully Katt will take some. I also packaged up some fabric and a sewing pattern for her to make a doll, and some truffles. I was lucky enough to receive some socks from 2paw, they are purple and green and they are in the wash somewhere atm. I also got a lovely little pouch that is purple and green and made from a Cadbury bag and it’s very cool. As well there was some chocolate and some little muffins that you can make for yourself because the recipe is on her blog. Very spoilt. As usual it was a great afternoon with excellent company. I am knitting socks – Embossed Leaves with pink Opal, some for the Spunk and the orange socks I started ages ago. I am also still knitting Button Me Up:

100_4436

Four teaching days left. Oh boy oh boy I can’t wait for holidays to come. I am so tired and grumpy. I have almost been telling people what I really think. Trust me, a lot of the time that could be dangerous!

I am 34 today. I had some nice cake yesterday and birthday wishes from lots of lovely teenage people and colleagues. So far, I got a sewing machine (yes I know I have had it for months, but it was a birthday present and I love it to bits), KNIT PICKS OPTIONS!!!! which I have wanted forever and secretly kissed when no one was looking, I have three books on the way from the Book Depository and I will tell you about them when they get here, some fabric and pinking shears from Tiny Madam, Yarn magazine from Number One Son, Red Door perfume, a gift voucher at BnT from Little Purl and a bracelet and it’s only 8:57!

100_4435

This morning one side of the inlaws are coming for morning tea. Then we are going out for lunch with the other inlaw and my Mum. Then we are going to the Spunk’s graduation ceremony at the Albert Hall (I am taking my knitting. Those ceremonies go FOREVER!). Then we are having a barbecue with my Dad and my little brother who is coming home to stay after being in Queensland for two years. Then my birthday will be over for another year and it will be time to seriously think about Christmas. I am trying not to freak out about it – I have done very little shopping and thank goodness we finish school early this year and I will have some time to get stuff done. I think I am going to make some of these for people. I am making something very secret for someone quite small, but she can read now so I can’t talk about it. You will have to wait.

Monday was Presentation Evening at school. Little Purl did very well. She received a certificate for academic excellence, and an award for being the most outstanding Grade 9 student, and was then appointed deputy head prefect. She is seriously amazing. We are so proud of her!!

Since then, however, she has been laid up with suspected glandular fever. Yuck.

The Spunk has work for next year! A whole year!! We are going to be a two income family for the first time in seven years!! I might be able to have a new kitchen!! I am very excited!!

And finally, only 22 comments to go and I have had 1000 comments on this blog. Isn’t that nuts? The 1000th commenter will receive a little gifty! Will it be you?

12 Responses to "gifty talk"

Happy Birthday Amanda. I cant wait for the school holidays either so we can all have a bit of a sleep in in the mornings. It looks as though you have some nice goodies there. I cant wait to see the socks you made Katt too.

Happy, Happy birthday!!I felt the same kntting for another knitter stress. I think we all did! Glad you liked your SS!! What lovely presents, and though we need the rain, I hope it doesn’t spoil your birthday plans today.
Well done Little Purl and The Spunk!!
I just read that tutorial!!!!!! What a co-inkidink!!

Happy Birthday! You got some great things! Hope you had a lovely day!

happy happy birthday Amanda! All the best for the coming year. Big squeezy hugs

34! :-0

LOL, you’re catching up to me 😉

Happy BD!!! I’d have kissed the KP Options too!

I haven’t started shopping either..gift cards for everyone!

happy birthday! I didn’t realise that *our* birthdays were also close (as well as our kidzes). I am the OLDER twin, though 😉

Happiest of belated birthday wishes – I’d forgotten we were almost twins. Hope your day continued marvellous. 🙂

Happy birthday, happy happy birthday. I love the kissing the needles.

Happy happy happy birthday!

Hope all the day was a good as the start!

Just so you know I BEYOND love my sockies!! and I am hoping to get time to tackle making a doll in the new year!! I just have to remember where I stashed the pattern in the huge house clean up!!

I will get piccies of the socks at some point. I did the same thing. I forgot to take piccies of my knits that I gave Glenys and still waiting for piccies!! lol

I hope you and yours have a fantastic Chrissie..and a Safe New Year 🙂

OH Amanda!! Happy Belated B’day!!I have just caught up with last post,you scaored some seriously cool pressies!!
We are single income at present too but hopefully B will pull a favour and be back in employment soon in the new Yearand yes i will post apiccie of THE ring,LOL Enjoy yor break oh and yeah work sucks but I owe 8 hours for Tuesday….

Happy belated birthday. I have been out of Blogland for six weeks and am slowly catching up with blogs dated after 16th November!

Hope your new year is full of crafty goodness!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
