amanda j

we interrupt our regular knitting schedule

Posted on: June 5, 2008

I have read this on a few blogs lately (thanks Briony!), and thought I would respond! If nothing else it will be interesting for me to look back on in the future.  Whoah, my head just hurt – time travel baffles me!

1) What was I doing ten years ago?

I was in my third year of an education degree and planning our wedding while juggling a five year old child in Kindergarten and a part time job. Even so, I am sure life was simpler then! I had a completely different set of friends, apart from one person. My parents were still married, and lots of people who I loved very much were still alive. I was knitting I think, but nothing like I do now.

2) What are five (non-work) things on my to-do list for today:

  • Catch up on reading some blogs and listening to some podcasts
  • Finish at least the body of Wicked
  • Cook curry for tea (yum!)
  • Call Mum
  • Watch The Kingdom

3) Snacks I enjoy:

  • Nuts of all shapes and sizes except walnuts (they are revolting!)
  • Milk Arrowroot biscuits dipped in coffee
  • Corn chips with salsa dip
  • Maltesers even though I shouldn’t eat them.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

  • Buy my parents something enormous
  • Buy a new house in the country and hire someone to clear out all my old stuff and decorate a la an Oprah makeover!
  • Give money to a proven charity
  • Quit work and start a yarn store/cafe/bookshop

5) Places I have lived:

  • About a billion farms in the Northern Midlands like this one (please be aware that we did not live in ‘the big house’. My dad was a farm hand and mum cleaned for the landed gentry!!)
  • Cressy
  • Perth (Tasmania)
  • Suburban Launceston with the parentals
  • About a billion rental properties in Launceston
  • My lovely little house!

6) Jobs I have had:

  • McDonalds – original crew member when it came to Launceston. Now poor little Purl works in the same ‘restaurant’ with some of the same people I worked with! Can you believe that!!
  • Milk Bar – hated this job with a passion, but beggars can not be choosers!
  • Lovely shop that no longer exists with candles and smelly things and lovely trinkets – where I spent a whole lot of my pay on the candles and smelly things and lovely trinkets!
  • Putting magnets on the back of calendars – two days of absolute hell
  • Ansett call centre – there are suspicions that it could have been me that brought them down. I managed an Honours degree in Education and have just about finished my Masters, but took 6 months to pass a three month probation at the call centre. I still shudder at the thought of working there. I fair dinkum absolutely hated it. I am not of the right temperament and should not have cheated on the personality test.
  • Teacher Aide with an autistic boy
  • Relief teacher
  • Teacher – and various roles within this role. For example, at the moment I manage 200 odd students as Grade Advisor as well as teaching English and Society and History. Yes, 200 odd 14 year olds. Sigh.

7) Peeps I want to know more about:

Everyone! I always find myself feeling quite self conscious writing about me, but love to read others’ responses!!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
