amanda j

socks, hats, gnomes, washcloths, what next?

Posted on: May 30, 2008

There has been much knitting! This week I have been working on socks, washcloths, a gnome and two hats. I have also been finishing off a term at school thank goodness! Here are some photos:

Gnick Gnome on the mantlepiece surrounded by photos. Note my nan and pop in earlier times!

Washcloths for Mum – happy birthday to her for last Friday. I can only show you one because I stole a pattern for the other one from Ravelry (copied! eeek!). I used this pattern legitimately. Mum liked them very much.

Little hat made using this pattern. This is a gift for a new friend’s nephew. What can I say? I knit on a whim at times. I also made a hat for Purl, but I don’t have a photo of that yet. It started off as a pinwheel blanket and ended up as a large beret! I might just have to start another pinwheel blanket this evening for some mindless round and round action.

We are having another Ravelry Tassie Knitters (Northern Chapter) meet up tomorrow! I am very excited and even though I have not been feeling very well, I will be there! It sounds like there will be even more members there than last time! Our little group keeps growing, which is fantastic. We will be discussing our plans for WWKIP day, which is only a fortnight hence.

I am feeling rather chipper this evening. We have two weeks off school and let me tell you it came just in time. I have been old Mrs Grumpy Pants at school this week, and some of the kids have been quite revolting! A very simple equation: grumpy teachers + tired kids = blech. The major project for the next two weeks is Wicked. I just need to wait for some yarn to arrive and off I go! I have also got my eye on this and have been umming and ahhing over buying some yarn from Bendigo Woollen Mills. Perhaps in Damson? What do you think?

Little Purl turned 15 this week. She had a lovely birthday and received an iPod Touch as her major present from us and a few of the grands. I WANT ONE! THEY ARE COOL! I think I will have to wait a while for one of my own. I will just use hers on the sneak when she is at work! Mwahaha!

We have had a change in leadership here on the Apple Isle. Apparently from now on we will be a more clever, kind and connected state. That should make life more pleasant! Also, it seems that Gunns will need to look elsewhere for a great big ginormous loan, as the ANZ is not funding the Pulp Mill. Interesting times indeed.

Finally, someone googled girls socks covered in spunk and landed at my blog. Each to their own I guess, but I feel a little violated anyway!!

9 Responses to "socks, hats, gnomes, washcloths, what next?"

oh Gnick is SO Gnifty!!!

i’m eyeing the shalom too!!! thinking of using bendi rustic 12 ply in agate 🙂

ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, I knew there was a good reason I never do that google search thingy for my blog.

Love the dishcloths and the photo of your grandparents. And Gnick is very cute!

The gnome is just so cute Amanda. Happy Birthday to your daughter too. My son will be 15 next year and makes me nervous knowing that soon after he can get his learner’s permit. The little hat is adorable too.

Lurve the gnomisnh one!!!
Aren’t we all Mrs Grumpy Pants in the last week of term?
And eeewwwwwwww to the key search words.

hahaha…. I’m speechless.

Oh, fabulous gnome!!! Hope you are feeling better now. Happy Birthday to Little Purl [I didn’t like Treskillion(sic)] Can’t wait to see your Wicked.

I’ll bet the googler was surprised to happen upon a knitting blog…thats hilarious.

Love the purple hat!

oh, the gnome is so great!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,231 hits
