amanda j

knit knit knit knit

Posted on: May 17, 2008

But first . . .

Bert’s It!

Oh my goodness, I have no idea how Bert puts up with Ernie! He wears away at him like a wave on a rock! I notice that there are others out there posting their favourite Jim Henson clips here and here. I am happy that we are spreading the joy!

I have no idea where the week went. I have been so busy at work, it seems all I do is walk around and around the school chasing up ‘issues’. Not to mention the administration of NAPLAN testing! All this walking is how I managed to lose about 15 kilos last year when I started in this role I have now! The next two weeks can’t go quickly enough as far as I am concerned. We all need a holiday!

I have been knitting like a demon, which tends to happen when I am swamped at work. This week I finished the Spunk socks and a Calorimetry:

I made this out of the leftover yarn from the Fetchings that I made for a workmate, at her request, which she promptly accepted with a thank you and no offer of even paying for the yarn. Now, I know I said I wouldn’t accept money for them – this is after all a copyrighted pattern and there is no way I would do that. But, she could have offered to pay for the yarn. It wasn’t from the stash! I had to go and buy it!! Grouch!!! It’s one thing when I knit for someone out of the goodness of my heart, but she ASKED FOR THEM!!!!

Ahem. I also designed the sock I was thinking of, but have to get some suitable yarn to test knit it with. I started with some yarn that I had but it was too busy to show off the pattern, so I will try to find something more amenable. I am really pleased with it though. I will post it as a PDF as soon as it is done. I just downloaded a PDF maker and will make my patterns into PDFs soon. I notice that quite a few people look at the pattern I made for the preemie beanie, which is cool.

Speaking of PDFs, I bought a copy of Wicked this week, and am in the process of umming and aahing over what to knit it with. I did ‘borrow’ this pattern some time ago, but couldn’t find where I saved it and as I am all about supporting independent artists, I thought $7.19AUD was not too bad for such a versatile pattern. Also, I saw ratherbeknitting (Ravelry link) with the pattern at our inaugural Tassie Knitters meeting last week, and covetous thing that I am, I had to have it!

I cast on another pair of socks last night, this time for me. I am about to turn the heel this evening. Again, a simple stocking stitch sock with some of the yarn I bought from BSODL(tm).

Mother requested a miniature sock this afternoon, and I finished it earlier this evening. While she was visiting today I signed her up for Ravelry! Mwhahaha! She won’t know what’s hit her! Also, it means she can join us next time for the Tassie Knitter meetup, which will be fun! Mother has also been knitting like a demon and has made three headbands and two pairs of mitts this week! Go Mum!

And now, a quick review of Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Sock Book.

Well, I love it! The book begins with a short history of sock knitting, including quite a bit of information about the war effort and socks for soldiers. It then goes into the anatomy of socks and breaks down the sock into manageable parts. There is a universal toe up and top down pattern, a sock calculator that allows you to plug numbers into the pattern for three different yarn weights and for sizes from baby to XL adult. There is then a large section on stitch patterns – textures and colours. And finally, there are some fantastic patterns, both modern and from ago. It is an excellent resource for all sock knitters, from novice to expert and I love it! Highly recommended! My only gripe is that it has a dust cover and I am worried about getting it a bit tatty. I have considered having our lovely library lady at work cover it for me with plastic to protect it, but what should I offer in return? Perhaps a pair of hand knit socks?!

To finish, I am going to share a couple of photos of my girls. They are nine and a half years apart in age (I know, think about it – one will be heading into adulthood just as I am starting the whole teenage girl thing all over again!!), but they are really good mates. One of their favourite things to do is to put makeup on and take photos of themselves and each other. Here are two of about four hundred million that exist!

10 Responses to "knit knit knit knit"

thanks for the book review. There are 10 years between kid A and kid B (and 14 years between kid A and kid C) in my family, and it is an *awesome* gap. I tell kid A that he’d better be good to his sisters as they will be choosing his nursing home. Could not cope with the little ones- well not so easily, without that extra adult in the family to pitch in.

I love Ernie! Maybe he reminds me of myself? HAHA! Oh and I got the same book about a week ago and I like it too! Great minds, right?

Gee I thought 7 years was a big gap. At least they get along really well. My 2 always seem to fight, or maybe that is because their not both the same sex. Love the minature sock too, how cute. The sock book sounds wonderful too. I cant wait to see what your mum has knitted too, she sounds like she knits really fast.

On the topic of ..will you make me a…insert project here. I think some people think that just because it is ONLY wool and you are ONLY a knitter, that there can’t be any real cost involved. It is ONLY some wool after all!!!
“No clue” people surround us!
So glad NAPLAN…or as we were calling it NAPALM… testing is over.

Yup – someone asked me to make them a lift and separate – I told them it would be 70 for the alpaca and 180 for my time – they looked horrified – and I pointed out that was only charging my time at 3 dollars an hour! – if I charged them my consulting rate of 70 an hour they’d never be able to afford it!

Needless to say, they didn’t ask again! If I want to knit people gifts I will, if they want me to make them something I let them know up front how much I am worth!

Yup – someone asked me to make them a lift and separate – I told them it would be 70 for the alpaca and 180 for my time – they looked horrified – and I pointed out that was only charging my time at 3 dollars an hour! – if I charged them my consulting rate of 70 an hour they’d never be able to afford it!

Needless to say, they didn’t ask again! If I want to knit people gifts I will, if they want me to make them something I let them know up front how much I am worth!!!!

Hmm ,you have to be careful with who you talk about the Woolly Addiction,very easy to fall into the trap of making something on request and not being offered at least a bit towards materials!!
A few years ago I was asked if I could make a gollywog (sewn),materials provided,I did,it was fun and the lady loved it,next she threw in a few bits of material and asked for another and I was allowed to use the remainder of fabric for one for myself ,I made them, and offered her the choice of one,she took both and I was left with nothing,time lost,cost of the extra materials,but priceless knowledge gained…..

we have 14 years from youngest to oldest. Eldest gets along with Ms Copper (14 year gap) just fine. But I am not sure she has ever forgiven the next one down from being born and taking her from being the “queen and only” to the eldest.
The mole in the middle gets tortured by all three sisters on a regular basis.

That is their job, they inform em.

If I havent birthed you or married you it is unlikely I will knit for you upon request after being stung like you.

I am very sad that your ‘person’ took such advantage. Very bad show on their part. You’ve been doing some lovely knitting though, and I loved the Wicked too!!!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
