amanda j

flight 123 to south america

Posted on: May 2, 2008

Sesame Street – Grover loves his map

Hahaha. This is another classic clip that has altered my consciousness – to the point where I can’t hear South America without hearing Grover’s voice in my head. That’s okay though. I would rather hear Grover than Elmo who I can hear giggling maniacally in the background as I type. I can’t come at the little guy! I’ve tried. In my honest opinion, the characters have been dumbed down somewhat. Gee, I am feeling controversial this morning!

Just so you can see the lengths I will go to when procrastinating over school work, this is what we did last Sunday:

That is a Barbie explosion. They all are now dressed, shod and lying neatly in their trunk, awaiting the next play session. Not one of them is akimbo.

I have been doing much knitting and finishing of promised projects. Way back when, (July ’06!) I started making a doll for the tiny madam. All of my obsessing about the gnome (I still don’t have the pattern. Boo hoo) made me feel guilty about the limp, unstuffed, bits dangling off pieces of doll waiting to be seamed up and finished in a plastic tub. So I hauled her out, sewed her up, gave her some hair and made a dress and shoes, and WA LA! Here she is!

I also finished what was supposed to be another bunny for the Number One Son. I had crocheted his head and body months ago, and then he sat around, faceless and alone! I made his arms and legs (they were really quick and I wondered why it had taken me so long!). Then I put them on and discussed with the Son noses and eyes and whatnot. I went to Spotlight and bought some possible eyes and he chose some. Then I was about to make the ears and therefore complete what should have been a cute bunny. Instead, the Son decided it was to be a monster, with a horn for a nose. And this is what we ended up with:

His name is Ech. I am not in love. I think he needs a beanie. This might happen over the weekend. His head is too round and bald looking. His nose leaves me cold. But, the Son is happy.

I also did one sock for the Spunk. No picture, as it is quite a boring sock.

One of my Mother’s Day books arrived; Knitted Babes by Claire Garland. I am going to start one of the Babes today I hope. They are really so gorgeous, and I am even going to sew! I don’t have a sewing machine, but I can sew. I will probably sew by hand as the clothing is quite small, and otherwise I will have to go to Mother’s house and borrow her machine. I like the idea of using recycled fabrics for the clothes. Of course, I had to make another trip to Spotlight with kids in tow. We had a great time choosing yarns and felts and a couple of fat quarters.

I am still waiting anxiously for my sock book, and will have to continue to wait because it is being delivered to work, and I won’t be there now until next Wednesday. Three kids home sick today, so I gave myself a day off to be a Mum to my own kids for once. Then Monday and Tuesday I have Professional Learning (translates to no school, good food, listening and chatting to colleagues with hopefully a bit of useful stuff thrown in!). I didn’t do much outside PL last year, so this is a bit of a change for me. Later this month I have a yucky one about mandatory reporting of abuse. I am not looking forward to that. It’s an unfortunate and upsetting part of my job however.

I am working on a commission at the moment! A friend at work asked for some fingerless mitts, so I am making a modified pair of Fetchings. I have no intention of charging her anything but the cost of the yarn. I just don’t know how I could do that!

Finally, I was lucky enough to catch up with 2paw and Kate last Friday for a cuppa and a chat. It was really lovely and relaxing and 2paw gave me a sock tote which is so gorgeous and perfect:

I feel rather guilty that I have made her one sock of a pair and must get off my butt and finish it. I know she doesn’t mind, but seriously! Could I be more slack??

11 Responses to "flight 123 to south america"

I love the barbie explosion distraction technique.

What was the gnome pattern you were after? I may have one here.

fetchings are addictive arent they? lol

wow i didnt think any child had more barbies then my girls..but…yours might have won 😉

its great knitting weather now (and crocheting too i guess) i lovet this time of year with the gorgeous cool weather and perfect knitting time..now if i could just get another 10hrs added to my days i will be right!

i love cindys totes..they are great!!

dolly and erm..exbunny look great 🙂

Katt

ahhh Barbie Apocalypse. Good times. (how did she get a photo of my house, I wondered).

Oh the dolly looks sweet. I think I would have preferred a bunny but he has cute eyes. If you need that gnome pattern I am sure I have it in one of my Simply Knitting magazines and I could send a copy to you. I just have to figure out which one it is in.

Children can sometimes surprise us with what they find attactive, can’t they?

Love the doll, and Ech has great attitude! How lovely of 2Paw to make such a great tote for you.
🙂

Truly a Barbie explosion!! Hope every one is feeling btter now. Glad you like your sock tote!! Can’t wait to see some Knitted Babes!!
PL is fine as long as there is good food I think!!

Barbtastic! I got knitted Babes too – and love it!

oh dear now I have ‘flight 123 to SOUTH America ” stuck in my head LOL
You EVIL EVIL woman.
Is it not enough that my DD’s blog ambushes me with her favourite clips from Fraggle Rock?
btw lurrrve the mini wee socks and thank you for the positive health vibes. Think strong vocal chords for tomorrow night okay??

I believe that avoiding prepared foods is a first step to be able to lose weight. They will taste very good, but processed foods include very little vitamins and minerals, making you consume more just to have enough electricity to get throughout the day. For anyone who is constantly feeding on these foods, transferring to whole grain products and other complex carbohydrates will make you to have more vitality while feeding on less. Thanks alot : ) for your blog post.

Ahhh……haa…. Thats really funny and really cute.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
