amanda j

ladybug’s picnic

Posted on: April 12, 2008

For your viewing pleasure – The Ladybug’s Picnic. I am going to post some of my favourite Sesame Street moments in the next few posts! Yay!

I finished my Fetchings and they are very nice! As well, my friend received her green pair very well and was allowed to hug me! I don’t often let people hug me but as she is a hugger and was very happy, who was I to refuse? I did not get a picture of hers, but here are mine:

These were finished this afternoon. As well, I have been working on Nutkins for mother. Here is a progress shot:

The colour is not quite right, but close. They are looking very lovely! I have read on Ravelry that some pairs are a bit swirly up the leg, but these seem to be staying on the straight and not too narrow.

Today, after thinking about it for months, I decided to over-dye some Patonyle yarn I dyed last year that was quite disastrous. I am happy that I did. Here is the result:

Nice blue thumb?

The pale aqua is acrylic tied around the skein. The skein itself ranges from a deep purple, through blue to a very bright green. Purl named it Zoot, after the Muppet. Very fitting! This will become socks very soon I would think! It is really lovely! Perhaps I should try and design some socks myself. I could call them Electric Mayhem! I wonder if I will ever move on from my Jim Henson obsession?

The Number One Son turned 8 on Thursday and was absolutely lavished with gifts. Our two smallest children have 8 grandparents due to divorces and remarriage. Purl has 12. Phht. Anyway, the upshot is that any birthday that goes by is followed by our poor little house splitting even further apart at the seams. I have no idea where on earth all of the Lego will live. He managed to collect the whole new series of Indiana Jones Lego in one day! This could be an occasion worthy of a look by Guinness. He also got some books; one of which contained a mini archaeological dig. Here he is chipping away, uncovering a dinosaur:

All three children have been unwell this week, off school for two or three days each. Purl stayed home from work today and spent the day in my pyjamas and headband, wearing false eyelashes with a helium balloon tied in her hair. I don’t even ask any more!

Thank you to people who recommended convict books and so forth. I have ordered some from the library and am now even further behind with reading! We like Oliver Twist and I showed it to my classes. They loved it! Yesterday I took delivery of ‘Discovery Boxes’ from Port Arthur, containing real convict era artefacts for my students to look at and handle! They will be very excited. Local people may just spot me on the television or in the paper later this week, as there is a certain Minister going to a certain school to launch a certain convict related CD that my students have been trialling. How intriguing . . .

6 Responses to "ladybug’s picnic"

I am looking forward to more Sesame Street videos! Have you gotten the Sesame Street Old Skool dvds? They have 2 volumes out here that cover the best of the first several years…the classic stuff I grew up on!

LOL,Ive seen that clip heaps over the years! Thanks for comment on my last post,we ve just got home from Perth and in now try to remember the bits from the testing and hope to gain some sense from it all,but I do know the useless teachers (the ones involved of course,Im friends with a lot of hard working sensitive staff) will have to pick their act up now!!
Love your dyeing adventures too!!

Oh, I heard a modern version of that and couldn’t work out why I already knew it. Now I know!! Thank you!!
Nice Fetchings indeed.(Too much Stargate, I’m all about the “Indeed” lately)
Happy Birthday to #1 son and I hope that everyone, however alternative, is feeling better now!!!
Will keep an eagle eye out for you and the new Deputy Dawg Premier!!!

Love the Ladybirds!!!Lovely fetchingas and your Patonyle is gorgeous!! – How lovely and sea-ish! I really enjoyed my Nutkins – both the wool and pattern – they can go a bit swirly – but that’s their charm!

Oh, the yarn looks so very nice! you should so go with your obession and design some socks. I think maybe a whole set based on characters. The Swedish Chef, Miss Piggy, Kermit, Fozzy, and Janis. . . oh, it looks like a plan!

I love your kids. So very funny. If false eyelashes help, more power I say. Your students are very lucky.

Love the Fetchings, they look fantastic.The Patonyle turned out really well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
