amanda j

a fetching tale

Posted on: April 7, 2008

I have been knitting! On Friday I cast on for a pair of Fetchings using left over Cascade 220 from the CPH. My friend has to teach in our hall, which is a great big cavernous building which is almost impossible to heat. She has been after some fingerless gloves for some time. The problem is, she can’t stand to touch wool!! Why I thought that the answer to this would be to knit a gauntlet out of pure wool (which is a little on the scratchy side) is beyond all comprehension. Anyway, I finished the left one on Saturday, and put it on. It is:

  1. obviously made of scratchy wool; and
  2. too big around the top.

So, I will keep that for myself and knit another one soon – I too have to brave the weather on lunch time duty, and these will come in handy. Pun only half intended!

I then scrounged around in my pitiful stash and found some pale green Cara Mia from some time ago. This is a blend of various man made fibres and 13% angora. It is very soft and does not feel a bit like wool. However, I found that 45 stitches around was too loose, so I ripped back and started again with 40 stitches. Lucky this is a quick knit!! I am now up to the thumb on the left mitt and should get that finished tonight, all going well.

The Nutkin sock pattern is fantastic. I highly recommend it. However, next time I do not think I will do the cuff as stated in the pattern, as I found it highly irritating to fold the cuff over and knit a stitch from the cast on edge with the stitch on the needle. It looks nice, but I am not sure it’s nice enough to bother again!

My throat is holding out. I am resting it as much as possible and milking it for all it’s worth at school! “Do not make me raise my voice! You will be subjected to relief teachers if you aren’t careful!!” It works part of the time at least!

In my usual fashion, I think I am becoming a touch obsessed with convicts. At the moment, I am reading The Potato Factory by Bryce Courtenay, Out of Ireland by Christopher Koch and The Great Shame by Thomas Keneally. I am about to watch Roman Polanski’s Oliver Twist and we have The Potato Factory mini-series out on video. But we don’t have a video player! I guess I never learned about ‘everything in moderation’!

Because I can’t leave you without something to look at, here is my cat as photographed by the Tiny Madam (you can see her perfectly pink toenails!). Excuse the dead grass. Blame global warming.

8 Responses to "a fetching tale"

Cute toenails. Your students are just lucky to have you, as obviously are your colleagues too. I like those socks. The k1, k1 hem thing hasn’t ever worked well for me, either. I tend to bias things. ugh.

Re convict reading – Colleen McCullough’s “Morgan’s Run” is also excellent. Very well researched fictionalised account of her husband’s ancestor who ended up in the first colony on Norfolk Island. The first bit’s a little far fetched but the Norfolk Island stuff is excellent.

Oh ‘snap’ again!! I did the ‘handy’ joke as well!! Glad to hear your throuat is holding up under the strain of talking!! I love your ‘threat’ of relief teachers. I used to threaten children at school with my Cream Trip in NZ story OR they could just put their hats on. The always put their hats on!!
I think the Fetchings are quite roomy, I always deduct some stitches.
Term of His Natural Life?????
Hello Kitty!!!

“Storm Bay” – it’s about Tasmania!

Love the Nutkins (pat the cat) and like Fetching (love the cat) – and the toenails (will you pat the dratted cat already!)
Cheers – remember – buttered RUm for the throat!

I knitted both my fetchings out of 8ply (one zhivago and other holiday) and they came out perfect size. I used the 4mm needles like they said to use. I think thicker would would make them a lot bigger..

cute kitty 🙂

Katt

My sister and I swear by Lemsip and Glava toddies. Does precious little for your sore throat but after 3 you don’t care!!!!
Your poor friend teaching in the hall……….no other profession would have to put up with it. One of my friends once had to teach in the foyer of the front office for half a term because the promised classroom failed to be ready. Imagine that with prep!!!!!
Cute cat…when I move into my mad cat woman phase I want one that colour!

Your fetchings are quite…fetching! Nice work. Love the color of the dyed yarn. Sometimes an overdye is just the ticket to making it right.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
