amanda j

croak croak

Posted on: March 31, 2008

School went back today without me! I seem to be having an issue with my throat again, and am making strange croaking noises and losing volume mid word. Then every now and then I will say something and my voice ‘cracks’ and I get pain too. Perhaps one should see one’s GP soon? Blah. I hate going to the doctor. Anyway, that’s enough whinging. Don’t worry Mother, I will be fine. Too much fun on the weekend? The Spunk and I travelled to our state capital with Mother and her DH to attend a cousin’s wedding.

Here is a picture of the finished Back to Basics III at the wedding on Saturday night:

The Spunk was wearing a pink shirt and so they went perfectly well with his outfit. Mother’s DH was not too sure about being seen in public with him! Beside his foot you can see a magic glass of bubbly that never ran out. I don’t think I saw the bottom of my glass all night. Which was probably just as well really as it dulled the stress of it all. Families! Who’d have ’em?

The setting was lovely though, and we made contact with a long lost relative who should be able to help me with my nerdy genealogical research that I have been doing for some time. He was a bit overwhelmed by us all . . . the poor guy is just trying to run a business and suddenly he’s hit with about twenty loud and ‘enthusiastic’ people all wanting to meet Grandma’s cousin’s boy! Ha! He has a name that has been carried down through generations (he didn’t know that!) and I said “If the Spunk knew I was talking to a *insert name here* he would die.” Right on cue the Spunk appeared, and I introduced *insert name here* and the Spunk nearly died! Poor man must have thought we were stalking him or something!

On the way back from our state capital we stopped at Campbell Town and looked at the bricks with convict names on again. I showed Mother a couple of bricks and then got confused and thought they belonged to my Dad’s side, but when I checked they were indeed on Mother’s side. When one has so many convict ancestors it really is difficult to remember which crim belongs where.

Last week my son built a Lego castle that belonged to the Spunk when he was a boy. Here is a picture:

They love Lego! It’s a fantastic way to spend time! I can’t believe only three pieces were missing after all this time.

And, finally, I have actually been knitting. I cast on a sock last night – Nutkin. I really like it so far. Using Katt‘s yarn, this one will be for Mother. I gave her the yarn for Mother’s Day last year, and she gave it back for me to knit.  The weather is much cooler and we will all need plenty of warm socks to get us through the winter!

8 Responses to "croak croak"

Lovely socks. Extended family events are great fun, but your geneaology past sounds more exciting than mine!

Sounds like a busy time.

You poor thing!! I am sure it has nothing at all to do with the endless glass of bubbly!! Hope you feel better soom. The Spunk’s socks look very swish indeed!!!

Hope you’re feeling better soon.

I think the socks are great.

Oh Dear! I hope your throat gets better soon! Not good news.:-(

Keep your germs at home and don’t share with the rest of us. In this you are allowed to be selfish !!

oooo, I hope you feel better soon! Have you tried those rhino pops for kids? Yeah they’re kid version, but yumm and they help my throat in tasty flavors 🙂

The socks look awesome and I LOVE that Spunk wore the socks…my fav color… 😉 Get better!

Great socks and I wish for a bottomless bubbly too! I love the Nutkin pattern – have finally put them up on my Ravelry page! Honey lemon and hot buttered rum – great for the throat, and after 3 you can’t talk anyway…….

Family trees are really a hoot. This (me) particular military person is descended from a draft dodger who emigrated rather than serve and married to one too as a matter of fact.

Watching my UK friends here, I am amazed at how many “interesting people” they are finding in their family trees in spite of all those who were shipped out.

Hope you get better soon.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
