amanda j

knomes with kneumonia

Posted on: March 20, 2008

Yay! Easter holidays!! Ten days off work!!! I might actually knit something worth sharing with you all. I don’t think I have knit one stitch in a fortnight. Seriously, something’s gotta give!

I have the pleasure this year of teaching some lovely teenage people. They are bright and interested and interesting and keen to do their very best. However, they can not spell for nuts. I tested my classes with 100 words so we can start Strategic Spelling and confused the heck out of them when I said “GNOME. I have a gnome in my garden called Terry. GNOME. Be careful guys, there is a silent letter.” Over half the class wrote KNOME. I kid you knot. Ha! I got them again with pneumonia. I wouldn’t necessarily expect them to spell that correctly, but again with the silent letter. I can understand their thinking . . . knee, knife, knome, kneumonia. Of course! Let’s just say I have my work cut out for me this year!! Nothing like a challenge!

I hope you all have a lovely Easter.

(photo stolen from http://www.pkmeco.com/images/gnome.jpg)

11 Responses to "knomes with kneumonia"

kneumonia sounds knasty! have a knice holiday.

Oooh tenh daze two gnit inn.

It’s logical; at least they were thinking!

gnock you to your gnees!

Sense of humour and lots of explanations are in order for the teens. (You don’t want to see my son’s spelling since he has a tendency to be entirely too fonetik! ;->

-Holly

There is a certain way of spelling, and it’s not bad, that I can live with because I am fantastically awful at it, it’s this text type speak that when cruising online that hurts my eyes trying to read it. It’s gone beyond text speak into a whole new version of English – clearly if you don’t speak it your too old for it.

Happy Easter to you too!!

I commend you for taking on the challenge of putting better spellers out there!

This reminds me of the time I took a latin class. The word was agnostic…my friend, during a written test, broke it down as follows: a-against gno- gnome stic – pertaining to. Hence of course, pertaining to being against little gnomes…

Enjoy your days off1!

Must the same everywhere! the girls here are saying they are amazed at the lack of spelling skills and table skills too in years 9 and 10,not my boys of course,LOL…..

Yes!! Ten Days on the Island, so to speak!!!! Hope you have a wonderful holiday and get lots of knitting done!!!
Very pleased to see high school spelling happening. MrsDrWho has a great new diagnostic test. It’s very helpful and I like the diagnostic aspect. Personally I love spelling but I think you are either a Speller, or not. The BSODL had this on their notice “recieve”!!!!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Well, good for you for trying! My impression is that no one actually teaches spelling anymore. So it’s nice to see you’re attempting it.

Best of luck!

We do teach spelling in the primary schools…and I know the YOU know that. But you can only teach those who wish to learn and sadly no all of them do. I have been giving my 10 word, level appropriate spelling test for 4 weeks( 5 groups), have begun working our spelling text book( 5 different level of book so 5 groups) and everyone is onto their 3rd lot of L/S/C/W/C words( individual words taken from their writing). Not too bad since it is only week 6. Let me know if you would like any resources!!!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
