amanda j

one week down

Posted on: February 17, 2008

Well, I made it through the first week of school relatively unscathed. The first three days were filled with meetings and some time to prepare to educate the yoof. We had a very interesting session about giftedness which made me think about how I can better cater for those kids in the classroom. This year I seem to have kids that range from very low to very high ability, so it should be interesting trying to make sure all of them are engaged and learning! Apart from a fight that I had to get in the middle of and having a go at the ‘jocks’ and the ’emos’ for hating each other, it all went pretty smoothly. The classroom stuff was great! Not too many yawns!

I have done a tiny bit of knitting. I finished one button band on the black cardigan. I am thinking at this point that I will not put buttonholes in the band, but will make a loop and just have one button at the bottom of the ‘v’ and then it won’t look so blasted big. Either that or eat pizza every night for a month! I will try to get the cardigan finished this week (one button band should be achievable!) and take a picture as soon as it’s done, even if it looks bad!

I have been working on this too:

I really like it. Very fine and soft.

Apart from that, nothing. I have zonked off for a disco nap two nights this week – Friday between 6pm and 9pm. Then I fell asleep yesterday afternoon as well. I am out of form, that’s for sure. I have been watching quite a lot of television – lots to see! I really enjoyed Underbelly (sorry Victorians – it’s really good!), and the final of Beauty and the Geek (I have been addicted from the start – guilty secret!!), and got straight back into the swing of Desperate Housewives, Grey’s Anatomy and Brothers and Sisters. As well, I managed to see how well the horrible teens featured in last year’s Brat Camp turned out, ready for a new series. I wonder if they’re taking nominations? If I’m not careful, I’ll have square eyes!

I have been reading though! I got these books from the library after reading a thread about our fantastic library system in the Tasmanian Knitters group on Ravelry:

All three knitting books have some things that I like. Fitted Knits has some little chunky cardigans that I would benefit from owning. The Felted Knits book is okay – but I think the only thing I might knit would be the ballet slippers. And the Classic Knits book also has quite a few things that might just make it to the queue.

Also on Ravelry, Fi mentioned this book:

I am about a quarter of the way through, and it is certainly food for thought. A year only buying the bare necessities is quite appealing to me at the moment for a few reasons – interest rates, petrol prices, the increased cost of living . . . and our plan to go to Thailand next year to celebrate a decade of marriage! We were thinking of having a big party but decided it might be much more fun to have a second honeymoon! Yay! And in that spirit, we are going to start keeping track of what comes into the house, and what goes out. We have a small house, three children and far too much crap! The Spunk has a week before Uni goes back and his mission is to rid us of some of the crap. I will keep you posted.

7 Responses to "one week down"

Getting rid of stuff (or buying less stuff) seems to be a common theme at the moment. Not sure I could only buy necessities for a year, but it’s a good aim (especially with a holiday at the end of it!).

I love the Classic book, it really is, well, classic!

Well done on surviving the forst week: and an intervention. I agree that sometimes the G&T miss out because we- you know what I mean!!- focus on thiose at the other end of the ability spectrum. It’s nice to have some useful PL!!
Glad you fitted in a little knitting, and some is green!! I’ve just put the Not Buying book on my Library List!! Not that I buy that much!!! But it is a good start to a Second Honeymoon goal!!

Love the scarf!! Interesting on the only-buying-essentials thing. Maybe I’ll have to wean into the program, like start by going every other month… 🙂 I love my Classic Knits book, can’t wait to see what you knit from that…also…can’t WAIT until you try the felting…

Good luck with clearing the decks a bit. I guess if I wanted to do that Paul would attack my yarn stash! The knitting looks lovely, and I can relate to the falling asleep part. I am not used to getting to up early after 6 weeks holidays, and the kids arent either. I guess after February is over we will feel back in the groove, and by that time it will be school holidays again. I am so jealous that you got to see underbelly too, I really wanted to watch it and was disappointed when they pulled it out. I have been watching Brothers and Sisters too and I love it. Every episode always has a line that makes you think about what family is, and they always have such dramas going on too, which I think I could do without if I were them. Hope you feel more rested soon.

Join our 7 things!!

We’re trying to declutter – but some weeks I just hurl myself joyfully off the wagon! Will request the classic knits and Not buying it! Glad you survived your first week – and glad there’s some movement about catering for the G&T (no, not gin and tonic!) They’ve been rather left behind in many schools!

Not Buying It is an interesting read. Don’t think I could go that far but it does raise some very interesting issues.

Good luck with the stuff disposal. 🙂

Thanks for the book recommendation on Not Buying it.
It probably is a sad commentary that most of us could make it a year without buying anything other than groceries, paying the house/apartment/utilities bill.
No restaurants? Not an issue.
No clothes? I don’t have all that many, but fashion is not my thing (wearing a uniform is a real benefit).
Knitting supplies? Several years on hand.
Books? this might be harder – I read a lot of paperbacks and the library only does hardbacks
CDs/AudioBooks/DvDs – If I actually used only what I have, I could probably make it, supplemented by the library…..

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
