amanda j

one last procrastination session

Posted on: February 10, 2008

Back to work tomorrow! This is an interesting time, because it’s great to catch up with colleagues and see how much the kids have grown over the holidays; to welcome a new batch of Grade 7 students into the school and start predicting what their contributions will be; to meet new people; to see time stretching ahead with the promise of achieving great things with the students this year. It also a bit sad because we get so busy and I have been so blessed this holiday to have spent so much time with my family relaxing and doing only what we really wanted to do. We have watched lots of movies, read lots of books, been crafty and generally mooched into the year. This year all three kids will be at full time school, and we will hit the ground running this week I guess.

Our mini holiday to Coles Bay was so fantastic and lovely. I had never been to that part of the East Coast before and found it completely gorgeous. We were staying within the national park and could walk to the beach in about two minutes. We also set off over the mountain to Wineglass Bay, which was very isolated and I spent some time imagining what it would have been like when the whalers were there, filling the water with blood. Amazing to think! I am such a history nerd!

The walk over to the beach took about an hour – up, up, up, up, up and then down, down, down, down. I had an epiphany after about ten minutes. Sitting on your backside for most of your leisure time is VERY bad for fitness. Holy crow, I almost died. All of these fit backpacking types (you know, those brown lean people?) were bounding past us speaking in foreign tongues. I translated for the Spunk . . . “Ooh, Hans, look at the half dead woman sitting on the rock!” My legs are just recovering, a week later. Ouch! However, I am proud of myself for keeping on going, and for making it back again! Some photos:

And the view from the house where we stayed:

Sunset

And knitting . . . well, I have almost finished the Basic Black cardigan (button bands in progress) and it is slightly large-ish for me, so I am trying to decide whether to wear it belted – which could work – or to throw it in the drier and see what happens. Bugger. I knew it was going to be too big when I had finished the back. It seems that all my care over the CPH and the wonderous time I had making that has meant I slipped back into my old slack ways! Because apparently it’s okay with me if I spend freaking hours knitting something that won’t fit! Geez Louise!

9 Responses to "one last procrastination session"

I hope your week goes well with you all being back at school. My BIL and his wife honeymooned in Tasmania and visited Wineglass Bay. I have to say that when we went there for the wedding it was so beautiful and pretty. We stayed in Richmond and loved it. I think I would be one of those people sitting on the rock too, absolutely buggered.

Ah, I am quite the walker, well 30 minutes worht which is a bit of a marathon for me! I am motivated purely by guilt- The Labradors look at me with their big eyes and I melt!!! So glad you have all thoroughly enjoyed the holidays and the beginning of the year is always full of promise!! Lovely photos!! Oh no, you have over-estimated you size!!! Hope you can fix it.

Wow looks like a great get away. Of course I had to google it and see the exact locale and more pics. What? you didn’t try scaling the granite cliffs? I’d leave that to Hans and Franz. When we were at Yosemite several years ago, we saw insane people scaling El Capitan. No….no……..no… Looks lovely and the beach..amazing. Sorry to hear the sweater is turning out too big, I’m sure you’ll find a way to make it work.

Glad you had a good time on your getaway. WE enjoyed ours but it was, in a word, wet!

Enjoy your first week back at work; I’m feeling unmotivated but I guess I’ll be all right when I finallly face the students tomorrow! LOL

Yay you – yes – I had the sitting on my bum is not the best way to get fit epiphany too!! Sad isn’t it!
Hope you make the cardi work! (Yay me!! Child free day – going out to lunch with the husby!! Yayayayayay!)

hate those fit tourists!! (read “am insanely jealous” for “hate”). I had a very similar experience when “walking” up to the wineglass bay lookout. We didn’t make the trek down to the actual bay though so good on you for doing that!!

As a non knitter I say…wear the black cardy belted. I don’t knit things like that but I have washed them…DON’T !
Wine Glass Bay….saw it and will never see it again unless they hoist me in with a crane. Lovely though.
I have faced my students for our first day…no one died and no one cried….A successful start.

So tell us how the first week back went!

The following time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, but I truly thought youd have one thing attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you can repair if you werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
