amanda j

two years and going strong!

Posted on: January 31, 2008

This week my two year ‘blogiversary’ comes to pass! It’s amazing to me that I have been writing semi-regularly for so long. I think most of it has to do with the sense of community that I get from blogging, reading blogs, commenting and receiving comments, emailing and every now and then meeting someone in person. It’s funny that I am often more honest and open about life and my thoughts here than I am with ‘real’ friends. My ‘real’ friends don’t even know I have a blog! They just wouldn’t understand! Most of them know about the knitting obsession, but I think they would call for the nice young men in their clean white coats if they knew how much time I spend on this hobby!!

Thank you all so much for the lovely comments about my Central Park Hoodie. I haven’t worn it still, it continues to be warm, but I know it will be fantastic out on the oval on duty in the middle of winter! Those days will come all too soon. I have got eleven days of holidays left, and even did some planning for school on Tuesday. I guess I will need to go in next week and wipe the dust off the old whiteboard and sharpen a few pencils. Actually, I have a perfectly good cleaner who would have already done that!

I have decided to take a bit of pressure off this year. I am deferring Uni studies – I don’t really think it is wise to be a mother of three (all at full time school for the first time), wife (and the Spunk is in his last year of Uni), housemaker, daughter, Knitter, teacher, Grade Co-ordinator and a Masters student all at the same time. Too many hats. It darn nearly killed me last year, so the Masters is on hold. I don’t even really remember what the motivation was to start it. Maybe if it meant extra pay I would continue, but it doesn’t, so I am not!

Cathy awarded me with this:

“Give the award to 10 people whose blogs bring you happiness and inspiration and make you feel happy about blogland. Let them know by posting a comment on their blog so they can pass it on. Beware you may get the award several times.”

It is pretty hard to choose 10 blogs really. I subscribe to 62 blogs on google reader and love each of them for their own reason. But, the rules state 10, so here we go!

  1. 2paw
  2. Tauret
  3. Proseknitic
  4. Fitknit
  5. Knizzle fo Shizzle
  6. Katt
  7. Disco Knitter
  8. Knitter Sue
  9. Knitting Natty
  10. Shazza

All wonderful, all the time.

I had better go and pack! We are off to the coast tomorrow. I have packed my knitting and have enough to keep me going for at least four weeks. We are going for four nights!

13 Responses to "two years and going strong!"

Happy blogthday!

I know what you mean about real life friends and blogging – I don’t think they really understand our blogging world!

Hope you have a great trip and get lots of that knitting done!

Any time someone takes stock of their life and says, “this is too much,” I think the universe breathes a sigh of relief. We are conditioned to take on and take on, and never say “stop!”

I hope you enjoy the “break.”

Congratulations on your 2 year blogiversary! I havent told my family that I blog either or my in-laws, but it is nice to have a few secrets isnt it. Thank you for the lovely award. I just received one a few days back, does that mean I can post another 10 lovely bloggers name to my list. There are so many lovely people out there that it is hard to narrow it down to just 10 isnt it.

Happy blogiversaary!!
Yes we are off to Hobart for 4 days and the first ting I packed was..(drumroll please)… my knitting (enough for at least 2 weeks!)

wow, thanks Amanda! Good on you for dropping the excess baggage, but doesn’t it seem like as women, the thing we drop is always the thing for *us*? Oh well hopefully it will be your turn nexr year if you wish it.

Thanks!!!! HUG…..

Have fun on your trip!

Dear Amanda, thank you for the lovely award!!!! Happy Bloggiversary. My blog is the only diary I have ever managed to keep for more than a few months. I love the whole blogging ‘thing’ too: the friends, the comments, the exceitement when someone has news of pictures. I know exactly what you mean!!
Well done on taking care of yourself. Your Masters will always be there, but this year will be gone before you know it. Enjoy your holidays, school’s back too soon!!

Amanda
Congratulations on two years. That is an incredible commitment. Even more than a Masters, to write regularly, sharing and learning with friends around the world.

Right on with putting the family and your life first.

Thank you so much for thinking of me with the award. Not sure what I have done that inspired you to think of me, but I will pass this one on.

-Holly

Aww, thanks! I love you too 🙂

I have to say that I think the effort you put into blogging is a MUCH better use of your time than doing your Masters…people actually read and care about your blog and the feed back doesn’t send you into a depressed spiral of corrections and rewrites!!!
Stay up late and get up early….stretch these last few days out as long as you can!!!

Ive hit the CPH quite a bit this week(for me) cant get out the speed like you but Im actually enjoying knitting the felty wool and lookforward to wearing it!!!
I was thinking of doing Volunteer St Johns this year but family stuff and long hours at work I think will have it put on hold again for a while,must think of sanity and health first as the whole family relies on us!!!!

Keep the blog going. Isn’t it amazing how much good it does to put stuff on a blog. I always used to keep a diary or journal when I was younger but the big thrill about a blog is the response from others who seem to know what you are talking about and care too.
Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
