amanda j

seams to me . . .

Posted on: January 25, 2008

. . . that the three needle bind off method combined with short row shaping for shoulders is my new favourite thing! I sat down yesterday, a bit wary, to have a go at finishing my shoulders (after a very lazy steam blocking session). And WA LA:

So neat, so easy! I followed these instructions.

I have almost almost finished the sleeves and should do so this afternoon.

They are looking good! Then, onto the hood and button bands. Hopefully this will be finished early next week, then I can take the CPH to Coles Bay when we go next Friday. We are having four nights away, which will be a lovely way to finish off the holidays! Then, back to the grind.

I will, obviously, need to take some knitting with me to the coast and thank you for your suggestions regarding the next cardigan. I am leaning heavily towards Rogue with a zip at the moment, so I will need to purchase the yarn for that soon. However, I have been wanting a simple black cardigan for ages and have been hoping to find one in a shop. Yesterday morning I woke up and immediately had a BRAINWAVE! Long time friends might remember that I was knitting a jumper for the Spunk, and it did not work and it was put away. Well, it was (note past tense) a black and green jumper.

It is now this:

Reclaimed and ready to be made into a cardigan for me. Cleckheaton Country 8 ply, washed, dried and reskeined ready to go. I am going to make this cardigan. And save up to buy the yarn for Rogue. Oh, and the Spunk wants Avast, and Purl would like her own CPH in green! I don’t think I have time to go back to work!

7 Responses to "seams to me . . ."

Love, love, love Cleckheaton. Everything about it. Yes, of course it should be a sweater for you. What else?

Knitting probably should eat your life, if you let it.

I use short row shaping for sock heels but I must try three needle cast/bind off; I saw it on an old episode of Knitty Gritty and it looks easy enough.

I’m glad you’re pleased with your work – that always spurs us on to greater effort! [not that knitting is an effort LOL]

Oh I love the avast sweater, and the basic black cardigan looks nice. How great that you already have yarn you can use. The CPH is looking good too, cant wait to see the end result.

Love the little black cardi, classic and simple, Avast is a good choice for the guys.

Can’t wait to see the CPH up and running! A little mini va-ca? I’m jealous!

Oh you are a True Knit-aholic, how many days for this?? It looks Fantastic!! I love the Basic Cardi too, something simple and it pretty much goes with everything!! I remember that jupmper you have unravelled!!
I hope it is cold for you on the Coast so you can wear The CPH!! And what good taste young Purl has!!

That is one of my fave techniques. I’m never disappointed when it’s used. Hope you enjoy your last mini break next week.

Thanks for your thoughts Amanda,Hoodie look’s fantastic, I love the colour, great fit.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
