amanda j

omg, hny!

Posted on: December 28, 2007

Well, we survived! Christmas has been and gone, and I reached most of my knitting goals. In the end I gave out eight pairs of socks. All were greatfully received. Well, to be honest I gave out seven pairs and one single sock. I knitted my butt off but could not quite finish the final sock for my friend who gave me my spinning wheel. Thankfully she found it very amusing to recieve one sock and watch me knit madly to finish the other. The yarn is Donni’s that she sent in my tea cosy parcel. Here is a picture of the second sock, which was finished Boxing Day night. I will post it to her Monday.

 

The final count was:

  • Embossed Leaves
  • Waving Lace
  • Back to Basics x2
  • Swirly Girl
  • Stocking Stitch x3

Speaking of Christmas, we had a lovely time. I was awake at 5:10 and waited patiently for the kids to wake up so we could have presents. They were very happy with their haul. We headed off for breakfast at 9:00 with MIL1, then off to lunch with Mother and then dinner with Father. On Boxing Day we went to the FIL and MIL2’s house. I got an extra surprise when I found a pubic hair in one of my meals. The Spunk and I almost wet our pants! It was hilarious. I went to remove it and then thought “Well, I am not about to eat that anyway!” so left it where it was. I shudder to think how it got there! The lesser of the possible evils is that it at least belonged to someone I know! Oh, it’s the little things that get us through!  

Phew. I have joined a very sensible KAL – The Year Long Gift-A-Long where the idea is to set goals and spread your gift knitting throughout the year. Considering I would like to knit socks for some people for their birthday as well this year, I thought this would be useful to keep me on track!

I am participating in Pay it Forward. The idea is that I will knit for the first three people who comment and commit to knitting for the first three people on their blog and so on. Those people will receive a gift within a year! What a great idea. Thanks to Nat who is going to pay it forward to me! Comment – go on, join up! I will make you something nice, I promise!

I have not sent my tea cosy for the Ravelry exchange yet. I am losing a bit of sleep about it. I will have to go to the yarn shop tomorrow and find something suitable for my recipient. Thankfully tea cosies do not take too much knitting time and I will be able to finish this weekend. Why, oh why do I procrastinate so? Speaking of tea cosies, I promised Donyale that I would post pics of the cosies (and pots!) that she sent me. They are perfect for my brown on brown with brown and green highlights house:

I am now happily a week into my holiday. It is such a luxury to get up lateish, and to spend time with my kids and family. We are planning to go to the beach a couple of times, which should be much easier and more pleasant now that our smallest Tiny Madam is 5. Life is becoming much more manageable. She even made her own lunch today! A peanut butter sandwich! How very clever.

I had been quite concerned about my knitting mojo. I think about four weeks went by where I did not knit a single stitch. I must have overdone it. However, in the past two weeks or so I have knitted six socks! Admittedly one is quite small for Master Seven. This photo was taken at lunch time today. It has since been finished and I have done the cuff for sock number two!

The yarn in this sock came with lots of other yarn that this gorgeous blogger sent me from her ‘scraps’. There is enough in there to make many little socks! Thanks Carol! Here is a pic of her generosity!

The Spunk and I are in the process of working out what we are going to get tattooed onto ourselves. Did you just fall over in shock Mother? We are both going to get each other’s name somewhere – mine has to be a bit discrete due to me having to pretend to be an upstanding citizen and all. I am also getting something small where it can be seen – I have decided to get a broad arrow on my heel to symbolise a very large part of my ancestry. It is now a thing of pride to be descended from convicts, and I am directly descended from at least seven transported convicts! It would be difficult to be more Tasmanian than me!

Finally, some of you noticed on Ravelry that it was my birthday recently. My Dad’s wife asked me if I would like a Pandora bracelet – I had never heard of them! When we had finished Googling Pandora bracelets, I decided I would like one very much. So, I got one! Dad and his wife gave me the bracelet and a little silver gift charm. I have since been given eight more! My lovely work friends gave me a gift voucher for two, Mother and her husband have given me two, and the Spunk gave me two (including a ram because i heart knitting!). Dad and his wife gave me two more for Christmas. I also bought some beads off Etsy! I don’t do anything by halves. Here is a blurry picture of my bracelet!

Hey, HAPPY NEW YEAR!

10 Responses to "omg, hny!"

Wow! That is some impressive sock knitting. The best part is that all of your recipients were appreciative.

YEAH for tattoos!! One of mine shows at work but oh well. There are actually a lot of our staff that have tat’s and piercings that show.

I’m descended from convicts too the only bad part is that I’m not Australian. Oh Sh**!!

Only comment I will make about tattoos..ok more than one –
1) make sure that it will look ok when you are ancient and wrinkly. Trust me, most tattoos look really ugly when people are in their 70s
2) only got to some place that meets all health requirements. Unfortunately, I have seen HIV and Hepatitis B (and C) originate from a careless operator
3) make sure that where ever you get it, there is enough padding below so that you have a good blood supply. This cuts down on infection risk
4) If you do your heel – you will not be wearing shoes with backs for at least a week if you want the best healing.

Now I will shove my little doctor self back down in the knitting basket and say that all those socks look great – useful and wearable.

They will be loved.

-Holly

HNY!!! So, have you started planning your hobbies for ’08 yet???
Just kidding ;P
love the bracelet!

Thanks for your post! I had a great laugh at the “find” in your dinner,I hope you didnt check the colour ,it may have narrowed down the guess of its owner? You certainly had a busy Christmas day!
Ill have a crack at the Pay It Forward, I had a couple before but if you re after numbers this time,count me in!With my new Sewing machine I would love to create some things on it!!!

I am glad you are having fun making little socks.
Your extra find in your meal had me cringing……… suddenly I wan’t hungry anymore.

Birthday? When did you sneak that in? Happy, Happy Birthday!!!
Have a Happy New Year too !!!

I can’t believe there was not one stitch for 4 weeks…are you ill?? Now, you MUST show Purl the guitar strap. It is sooooo easy peasy. Only about 30 sts wide so it really whips along.

Merry Belated Christmas to you too, and an early Happy New Year 🙂

Oh my goodness – you got all those socks made! Tres impressive. I’ll get round to the 8 random things this week – promise.

HNY 2u2! snort.
Bracelet is nice! I like them even more now that I realise you can get beads for them other than the ‘official’ ones, if you know what I mean. Getting tattooed is an experience not to be missed. I am rapidly closing in on old and saggy but I think a tiny FSM somewhere I can’t hide it could be in my future. The usenet group rec.arts.bodyart has an awesome FAQ with all the safety stuff in it about autoclaves and so on. Nice sockage too!

Hi, there!

I’m just checking out some of the other people’s blogs that are in the Year Long Knit-Along.

I like your blog, very crisp and clean looking, and your stories are great… especially the one of your “surprise” Christmas gift in your food.

Happy New Year, and happy knitting!

No knitting? But you were busy [with reports and Christmas and crochet…]. I haven’t knitted for 18 days [who’s counting] and I’m so desperate to do so!

I like the sound of Pay It Forward but since I’m not allowed to knit, crochet, embroider, paint or draw ….

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
