amanda j

drip, drip, drip

Posted on: October 30, 2007

As I was getting ready for work this morning (praying the rain wouldn’t fall – carnival day!) the Spunk raced up our external stairs (from the laundry – oh for an internal laundry!) and said “I think you better come and have a look at this”. To cut a long, expensive story short, the hot water cylinder had leaked all over the freakin floor, into the ‘little room’ under the house where the previous owners may have kept their teenager and created quite a mess. About $1000 later, we are the proud owners of a new hot water cylinder and a very wet floor. I have to see the glass as half full – there were some boxes of books that are quite important but too voluminous to have in the house that we could have lost and didn’t, so it’s not all bad. That would have upset me. As for the money, well, they’re still printing it. Tighten the belt. Cancel Christmas. Sigh.

I didn’t quite make the deadline of posting before the end of the weekend. There were storms here on Sunday night and I am a bit scared of weather, especially of it jumping through my laptop and killing me, so I put the post off. Then last night I fell asleep again. But, here I am. I finished a sock, and am on the home stretch of the other one. I have done a bit of my handspun scarf and also started a Granny Square afghan with left over sock yarn.


Left overs


Granny Square


Buggy Basics


Handspun Scarf

I got an early birthday present today! I am not a ‘high maintenance’ kind of girl and much prefer comfort over speed. I have been coveting some crocs Mary Janes for some time, and when I was talking to Mother about them the other day, she offered to get me some for my birthday (which is in December!). We have never been particularly good at waiting for birthdays! Here they are! Yay!


Nice moon tan!

We also came by some books today. Little Purl has a job on the side reviewing books for the local rag. In the post she got Do Not Open and Ripley’s Search for the Shrunken Heads and Other Curiosities. Both of these books are fantastic and I would highly recommend them for kids and adults. The first would be an excellent gift for book lovers or seekers of knowledge. It’s amazingly filled with facts about everything from the contents of your hamburger to the Mary Celeste. The second is in the style of Egyptology and has pop-ups and little letters and all sorts of things. Both are presented beautifully, the first in a box with a magnetic closure and the second with a kind of squishy cover and embossing. A sneak preview: 


The cool book box. Shiny and new. *sigh*


A typical double page. Believe it . . . or not!

Finally, imagine how difficult life can be without a v key. Mine is sticky. It is annoying! Looks like keyboard number three could be coming up!

14 Responses to "drip, drip, drip"

Love how the buggy is knitting up into grownup socks..lol

Oh no about the hot water cylinder!! When we got our wood heater replaced by gas heater the landlord replaced the hot water cylider with gas..Its a little box outside the house now..

Hope all the rain we had today wasnt during your carnival..There was heaps while we were having the knitting group.

Happy knitting

Katt

Oh no! Well, you were pretty lucky – if something is going to go wrong like that, that’s a pretty good minimal damage to have from it. BUT, you have fabby shoes 😀 And lovely knitting 🙂

i love those mary janes!! i have a pair myself but in pastel pink colour. very comfy!! i even have a pair of the crocs ballet flats!!

anyway, happy knitting!! 😀

Oh things like that always happen to us. As soon as we save a little money, something breaks down and we are back to having no savings yet again. I love your Mary Jane crocs too, they look great. I have 2 pairs of crocs, 2 being worn so much they ended up with holes in the bottom of them. Those books sound interesting too, and 3 of us are booklovers, so it is always great to find new ones.

That’s life, I suppose – all swings and roundabouts – love the ccrocs and socks (don’t forget that crocs eat hand knit sock) Lucky you with the books!

Yes, the Machine and Technological gods look down and say, oh there is a little spare money: let us have something break down. It happens to me all the time. My hot water cylinder is under the house so when it burst the water ran down the street. All day!!! Nice crocheting, I will have to watch out for the reviews as well. Hope you have a nice moderation day, glad to hear you are all OK !!!

Oh, the shoes are so cute! Sorry about your hot water. Not fair!

Lovely knitting and crocheting. You have made me want to dig out my crochet hook.:-)

There’s no doubt that gas, hot-water heaters are designed to rust through after 7 1/2 years. They all seem to have a seven year guarantee.
Love those balls of left over sock yarn in a glass jar. I’m off to the charity shops right now to find a glass jar so that I can show off mine too.
Cheers Gillian

Great idea for the left over sock yarn! Cute shoes too.
Hmmm…hot water heaters ours went one week after we moved in our house so, 11+ years ago. Every now and again it starts to make suspicious noises. Do you guys have basements? Just wondered.

Hmm… not all the photos are showing up for me, but I love your granny square! 🙂 And those MJs are cool. Wouldn’t mind a pair myself to show off my socks. :mrgreen:

I love my mary jane crocs – have worn them to death (but no enough to put holes in them)….liking the glass jar idea too.

Dear Amanda, I am not your Tea Cosy Secret Pal, I am merely a conduit through which she wants to assure you that you are being tea cosily stalked and there is knitting and there is a gathering of cosily great things happening too!!! Just so you know!! Be Ready, Be Very Ready!!!

Amanda, by a strange co-incidence I too have a room under the house in which the previous owner’s kept their teenager. When we inspected the house, my husband ran his hand along an overhead beam and uncovered a large stash of marajiana and acoutrements, so I suppose I can’t really blame them.

Too bad about the hot water cylinder, but you know I would actually like an outdoor laundry. Perhaps not if I lived in cool Tasmania though. As long as you didn’t have to get wet getting there, a laundry separate from the house would have advantages. Although if I were to design one, it would include a sitting area, a tv, a wireless connection and a yarn stash. And perhaps a sofabed. I spend most of my time in the laundry anyway, may as well make it comfortable.

Anyway, I’m sorry about the pre-christmas expense blowout. I’d agree with 2paw – the appliance gods do it on purpose. And it never happens just to the one appliance either, so be vigilant!

Our parcel is here – squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Your colours look beautiful – pelase email me your adderss and I will post off.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
