amanda j

happy world teacher’s day

Posted on: October 26, 2007

Today was World Teacher’s Day. Well, at least it was in Australia. Strangely it seems that World Teacher’s Day can occur at different times, depending on where in the world you are. Kind of like the Queen’s birthday I guess. I think Madge is onto something, having an actual and an official birthday. If I could choose I would have another one in the middle of the year rather than December so I didn’t have to wait so long between present receiving opportunities!

I must say, celebrations for World Teacher’s Day were particularly low key. I did not find any pleasant surprises on my desk this morning (although I did get some truffles last week, that was a bonus! And some biscuits the week before that!). Not one student wished me a Happy Teacher’s Day. (Mum did though! Thanks Mum!) 

However, when one is in this business, one learns to find rewards in one’s work as much as possible. Really, if one was not in it for the warm fuzzy feelings, one would not go back after day one.

Today the rewards were in the many smiles, hellos, thank yous, are you coming to the cricket tomorrows and have a nice weekends Mrs J that came my way.

World Teacher’s Day is really about recognising the role of teachers and building awareness about the importance of education around the world. I encourage you to thank a teacher whenever possible. We don’t hear it very often!

I have, unfortunately, done little knitting this week. I have almost finished a sock. I have started a scarf and that’s about it. Two nights (or three?) this week I fell asleep at around 6:30 for an hour or more and lost precious knitting time. Tell you what. I will knit my butt off and post again with pictures before the weekend is over.

4 Responses to "happy world teacher’s day"

well that explains the ep of the Simpsons that was just on ;-). Happy Teachers’ Day! I take my hat off to yas.

Happy Teachers’ Day!! Can’t think of many more
important or undervalued professions. I think the idea of higher wages to reward and give more respect is an Excellent Idea!!
Hope you feel a bit brighter soon and can knit away!!!

We have Teacher Appreciation Week in February & the Home and School spoils our teachers rotten. We have a theme & treats in the staff room each day of the week. Teachers get notes from the parents & kids & we make a huge lunch on the Friday & parents take over yard duty so the staff can eat together. It isn’t like that everywhere though, new teachers are always shocked.

HAppy world teacher’s day! You forgot to disclose yarn purchasing … Never mind – I will be!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
