amanda j

long time . . .

Posted on: October 13, 2007

. . . no post! A kind blogger emailed to ask if I was okay. I really am, work is great at the moment! Of course work is getting in the way of what I would prefer to be doing! Knitting and talking about knitting, along with reading and writing about knitting. I guess that’s what weekends are for. And Show Day! We had a sneaky day off on Thursday and I did nothing really except sit and knit.

Some time ago I was going on about the Interweave anniversary book and how I wanted to get it so I could make the felted bag. fitknit offered to send it to me, gratis, and promptly did! I am constantly amazed by the generous nature of the people I meet in cyberspace! Thank you so much Fi! The bag has joined the queue. I have to just save some pennies to buy some yarn for it!

Last weekend the Spunk and I ventured out to the Evandale Market where I was hopeful of finding something yarny to buy. On one stall was some bluebell and some baby wool and some grey stuff (enough for a cardigan). I didn’t buy any of it because it was sweaty. Yuck.

This morning I went to the library and got two books – Spinning Designer Yarns and a stitch dictionary. I looked for the audio books but the Spunk was doing blockies while Purl and I were in getting our stuff, and the whole blinking library has been rearranged and I couldn’t find them. Just as well I guess as I have three Harry Potter books to listen to, and about a million podcasts. My ipod sure does get a workout!

Of course, there has been sock knitting. I have finished a few things since my last post:

  1. Waving Lace
  2. Swirly Girl
  3. Back to Basics
  4. Back to Basics (on foot of sock one)
  5. Embossed Leaves (one down)
  6. Retro Ribs (one down)
  7. Vanilla
  8. Vanilla
  9. Vanilla

Some pictures and comments:


Embossed Leaves in Patonyle. I find this pattern incredibly quick to knit. Apart from the Patonyle sock pattern, it is the first I have knit twice. They are lovely.

 
This is Back to Basics in Koigu. I tried a number of patterns with this yarn, and this is the best one. I really liked knitting the pattern and the yarn. The heels on this pair are a bit ‘poochy’ – next time I will start the shaping a little sooner. Knitted on 2.5mm addi circulars, these may also have converted me to a socks on 2 circs kinda girl.


Vanilla Patonyle sock pattern, knit with Online yarn. This is really nice yarn to knit with, not as scratchy as Opal (which hurts my delicate skin after a while!!) These turned out really well and I was tempted to keep them for myself! No, I must be strong. I will buy more of this yarn.


The lone Retro Rib sock. The Leg’s foot is nowhere near as big as the Spunk’s. How do I motivate myself to make another one?


The start of another Back to Basics, although I am considering other things at the moment. Not sure. Hm. I better decide soon, I am almost up to the ‘V’.

Hey, we also made a hat! I knitted some and so did Purl! It’s my own design with some sparkly spangly yarn picked up from the BSODL ™ for $2.00 per ball. It’s for Purl. She will never wear it. Still, it was interesting to knit and I might make myself something similar for next winter.

The smallest kids and I have been enjoying watching Fraggle Rock episodes, and have started a bit of a tradition – one a day, before bed! They are so cute and funny and carry such a positive message. I just love LOVE them. Today I bought the second series at Woolies. I can’t wait to watch some more!

Fraggle Rock

Try not to clap! I dare you!

In other news, Little Purl got a job with the Golden Arches! She will start soonish – she had to sit a test at home last night online, and they will call her with her first shift directly. She is excited by the money spending possibilities – although has just begun to understand that things are expensive when one is spending one’s own money! 

Also this week, I got a webcam and a facebook. Mother and I have been corresponding grinningly at each other each evening. Through facebook I have made contact with three old school chums! Yay!

15 Responses to "long time . . ."

yay embossed leaves!! 🙂

Great socks, Amanda!

Glad you now have yet another project to add to the queue LOL!

Love all the socks! Would you possibly be able to email me a pic of the Patter socks on the foot? I like to collect piccies of how my yarn knits up just incase anyone wants a gander at them.

Mmmm I really gotta get back into more socks once I have gotten through my huge list of things to knit.

Might have to collect the Fraggle Rock series..I use to LOVE it as a kid

Katt

Oh dont you love it when kids actually realise how expensive things really are, and that we dont own a money tree (although that would be wonderful). I love all of your socks, you have been busy, busy, busy. The embossed leaves sock looks great. I have seen the Fraggle Rock dvd’s in the shops lately too and think of you everytime.

Great job on all of those socks! I love embossed leaves too!

You have knitted so many socks!! You must be feeling better ina whole person in a kind of way!! Ah, the Scottish Restaurant. I like to go in and order from my friends’ children and say how good they are!!! I ahve a spindle and unspun wool. I have NO idea what to do with them!! How very cool that you are exchanging grins with your mum!!!

Love the socks but have to admidt to loving fraggle rock far too much. I love fraggles and well had to play the clip 5 times I now have to have the dvd’s

I am on facebook too and there is a knitting bloggers group and addicted to knitting group that i have found.

Wow, you have been busy. The socks are gorgeous and Purl’s hat is lovely. Great to hear Purl is knitting again too! Congrats to Purl on the job 🙂

it all looks great, I LOVE the embossed leaves. btw Where do you buy koigu?

Wow!! you’ve really been cranking out the socks! I have had the embossed leaves on my list for a while. Love the Fraggle song! 😉

those are some really lovely socks!!!

Wow, you have been productive! Hope work goes well for Purl – it’s such a big step the first job; for you as well as Purl.

Love all those socks!!
Have to say the Fraggle Rock clip is my favourite, I’m definitely going to have to buy the dvd’s now 🙂

All the socks look great!

And thanks for Fraggle Rock – it was a nice bit of amusement for Saturday morning! [when I should be packing up the study not reading blogs!!]

That’s it! Embossed Leaves is going into my queue. Yours are just lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
