amanda j

holy knit one purl two

Posted on: September 22, 2007

Why you don’t mess with a Knitter

This dastardly villain is called Nora Clavicle. Apparently she stood for womens’ rights and was a friend of Commissioner Gordon’s wife. Read all about her here. I am not sure she did much for womens’ rights at all! Nor the reputation of knitters!! 

Yesterday, I had a dream come true. I bought the first seriess of Fraggle Rock. I absolutely loved this show as a kid (I am an enormous Jim Henson fan – Sesame Street references abound when you talk to me. In conversation, I will often say “Oh, that’s just like on Sesame Street, when blah blah blah”. The Muppets are also firm favourites!). Our kids were staying with their Grandma last night and we went unhindered into the city. While there I bought the DVDs. We then went back to Grandma’s to drop the DVDs off and initiate the kids into the fabulous world of Fraggles. When they came home this morning they were so excited to tell me that the Doozers were knitting! And they were singing a knitting song!! We promptly watched it and OH MY GOODNESS it was so cute! See here! 

Well, the holidays are coming to an end. That’s fine though – Term 3 goes quickly and there is lots to look forward to. Athletics, picnics, warmer weather, Graduation Dinner . . . all sorts of fun and games.

7 Responses to "holy knit one purl two"

I loved Batman, and their Siamese Knot is sooo terrible. Fraggle Rock was excellent, I remember that too, and I also absolutely loved The Dark Crystal!!!! Ahh, happy days.
This term is only 12 weeks and a few spare days. I saw mince pies in the supermarket yesterday. It is too soon I tell you, too soon!!!

Heh – love Nora Clavicle; a knitting needle, fabulous suit and world domination – great combo. 😉

I’m a little concerned that the Doozers couldn’t master knitting but that that they’d be better at construction, though.

Thanks for the fun links, this must be the video that homeland security was using as reference when they decided to ban/limit knitting needles on planes. (Can you say faulty intelligence?) I love the Fraggles too! Now the theme song is stuck in my head!

Oh I do remember Fraggle Rock and the Muppet Show as a child. The Doozers were always so cute, and I cant believe that they knit too.

I adored Fraggle Rock!!! There was never enough wavy floaty hair after it finished… and we have a Muppet video collection that gets quite a workout too 🙂
Nice bumping into you on Friday – I’ll have to look out for you next time I’m wandering through Myer!!!
Oh, and how about Madam Compost – maybe that’s why I love my vege patch so much????

ooh I loved fraggle rock too as a child!!!! The Doozers were so cute!

Katt

Love the Batman, made me giggle madly while I am suppose to be doing work. I can’t believe how short school terms are. A work friend said that her kids only have 8 weeks left after these holidays for the year. I don’t remember school terms being that short.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
