amanda j

brownie points?

Posted on: September 11, 2007

There has certainly been a great deal of knitting over the past few days. I finished the Swirly Girl socks, they are neatly stored in a ziplock bag, ready for Christmas. I don’t think I have ever had a present ready so darn early! It is very pleasing. I have also finished the Waving Lace socks. I don’t know whether I would knit another pair of socks with Panda Wool. It is soft in the ball and soft on the foot, but is quite a strange texture on the needles and makes my hands feel very dry. Here is The Leg (showing some evidence of her previous life in an Art classroom):

I am coveting The Best of Interweave Knits. I desperately want to knit the Mary Poppins bag; it is completely lovely and would make a great carry-all for work. However, I think I should try something a little smaller for my first felted project. Any ideas?

The amazing Brenda from Cast On has been talking about earning badges and beads lately for being a Knitting Scout. In the US there are campfire girls. We don’t have campfire girls as far as I am aware in Australia; certainly we did not when I was growing up. I was, however, a Brownie and thoroughly enjoyed going to Brownies and having fun with my friends there. I was a Tintookie and became a sixer (leader of a little pack!). When I googled Tintookie I didn’t have a whole lot of luck but I did get this:

Tintookies are ground-dwelling spirits.  They are extremely inquisitive, but their special interest is helping to make wishes come true when deserved.  Nobody has ever seen a Tintookie, as they do their good deeds by stealth.

Well, I’m not too sure about that! Anyway, I may be the only Brownie on Earth that did not ever earn a badge! So when Brenda talked about badge earning, my ears did prick up! So, in my next few posts I will explain the badge and how I earned it. For today, The “Prosetylise Knitting” Badge.

This badge is earned by knitters who talk about knitting in a positive light, while avoiding references to yoga, hipness and grandmothers. I talk about knitting a lot. A heck of a lot actually. In my job I have a lot of access to young, impressionable minds and I am not sure how parents would feel if they knew how much time in my classroom is taken up by talking about knitting. Hey, we have to get to the next generation. I am forever showing kids my socks. It’s scary. Then we get to talk about how they can knit and who taught them. I am determined one day to start a knitting group but I am too busy at the moment. I am in negotiations with a Home Ec teacher to do a guest spot in her class for the kids who have finished their sewing projects . . .

I also talk to my friends and colleagues. I have influenced three others in my family to knit socks. My poor husband sits and patiently listens to my dreams of knocking off the LYS owner and taking over her business . . . sigh. I think I deserve this badge!

I am planning on spinning tomorrow. There is some lovely fibre that is screaming out to me. There should be enough to knit a scarf and I really need to get over this spinning drought. I am looking into a new wheel but I MUST NOT buy a new wheel until I prove that I really really  want to spin. Look at these colours! Aren’t they lovely!!

The holidays are proving to be very relaxing. We have been mooching around the house. Tomorrow will be a day out – I am off to the doctor for a routine checkup and a bit of maintenance, and then we are going to see Ratatouille. Hopefully it will be funny. I seem to see nothing but animated films at the cinema these days! Some of them leave me wishing I had some dpns to poke my own eyes and eardrums with!

I really need to do some spring cleaning. The weather is getting better, the house is drying out a bit and I need to wash curtains and clean some walls. However, it is difficult to get motivated and we need to get rid of the children as some of them are allergic to dust and some to mould and some to both! The last thing I want to do is to contribute to coughs and runny noses. I have had enough of those around here to last a lifetime.

My Online sock yarn arrived and it is really nice. I like the colours very much and will cast on a st st sock either tonight or tomorrow morning I think. Only seven pairs of socks to go! Yay!

“Oh no! Our house has been taken over by giant yarn balls! Help us!
Oh, and who took my pants?”

Here is my updated list:

  1. Waving Lace
  2. Swirly Girl
  3. Anastacia
  4. Embossed Leaves
  5. Retro Ribs (in progress)
  6. Vinnland
  7. Vanilla
  8. Vanilla
  9. Vanilla
11 Responses to "brownie points?"

Absolutely Brownie Points for you!! A badge and your very own woggle!! My word the balls of sock wool are getting bigger now!! Well done with the socks.

Sorry you didn’t enjoy knitting with the Panda Wool so much 😦

Congratulations on the TWO pairs of completed socks. I just bought my first OnLine yarn last week (a wild lime green and multi colored combo) and have found it to be extra quick to knit with. Does that make sense? I really like knitting with it. You are so much farther in your Christmas knitting than anyone I know. You deserve at least one Brownie badge!

Wow you are going great guns on your sock list. I have knitted one pair for my sister so far. Another few pairs to go. I love the colored fleece, and cant wait to see how pretty it turns out. It seems you are a sock knitting machine at the moment.

I’ve got the original mag if you want the Mary Poppins bag. I’m happy to send it to you as all it’s doing here is gathering dust.

luff the socks. I have those OTN too, if you can call half an inch of cuff knitted about two months ago OTN :-).

go go embossed leaves!!! 😉

Yay!! I’ve been waiting for you to spin that fibre. Can’t wait to see what you do with it 🙂
Congrats on the finished Christmas pressie socks – I wish I could be so organised!

Way to goooo! Holidays are great, aren’t they? Mine start this week, if it wasn’t for that pesky second job that doesn’t finish till the end of November. Still it’s only one day a week!

Are you joining the Southern Summer of Socks KAL? I think you’d really sock it to ’em!

Weird……..my house has been taken over by yarn balls too!!! The socks look super!

Nice sockies! 🙂 And so organised for Christmas too!

How about trying a Booga Bag for your first foray into felting? I love mine — it’s just the the right size for a sock project. 😉

I was looking at those badges the other day. I was in the Brownies, but I never got a knitting badge.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
