amanda j

knitting keeps me sane

Posted on: September 1, 2007

Gracious me, it seems that my posts are becoming further and further apart! I am knitting quite often and using the computer too. Perhaps I don’t have much to say at the moment!

I read Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off last weekend and really enjoyed it. It is certainly food for thought and I really recommend it. It is well written and interesting. I think it might scare anyone who doesn’t knit, but for me – a Knitter – it was great.

I finished the Tiny Madam’s Daisy cardigan and it looks fantastic! She absolutely loves it!

Cleckheaton Country Silk – 6 balls 

I am so happy with this and plan on making something similar in cotton for the summer nights when we have barbecues. I can dare to dream that this will happen; today is the first day of Spring on the calendar and the blossoms are appearing at a very rapid rate.

For me, Spring and September must be a new beginning. August was one of the worst months I can remember. In the past I have had dreadful things happen to me, and once I had a year that threw many challenges my way. However, this month I have been dealing with some of the most awful and stressful things! Flu, huge conflict with a colleague who is a bully at work who finally pushed my last button, sick kids at home, Spunk rushed to hospital with a dreadful injury sustained at work which also meant he could not do anything around the house or drive for the past almost two weeks, huge worries about kids at school, missed work, could not take an important trip to Canberra, existential crises (yes plural), couldn’t go to a big thing I had been working towards for a year, insect infestation at home, intern to watch at school, just passed a unit at Uni, you know, the usual. Aaaargh!! But hey, holidays after this week. When a colleague asked me what I do to help me cope, I said “I talk to the Spunk and I knit”. I think she thought I was joking!

Speaking of holidays, the friend who gave me her Ashford Traditional is coming over to help me with my plying. I have not been spinning at all, and I have lots of fibre I want to attack. However, part of the reason I have been reluctant is the bother I have had in the past with plying two singles together. With her help, I shall conquer my fear of the wheel going anti-clockwise and spin spin spin. I am really looking forward to that!

I finished one sock for Cindy, I have almost finished a Waving Lace in Panda Wool and Swirly Girl from Yarn Magazine with Katt’s pink Patter and I am about to cast on a pair of Retro Ribs for the Spunk with the Trekking that I got from my lovely Sockapalooza pal.

 

None of these socks are for me! The two pictured are intended as Christmas gifts. See, I am getting organised!! I am also planning another pair of Embossed Leaves for my MIL1 for Christmas and I really must knit a pair of socks for my Dad’s wife as she hasn’t received a pair yet. Hm, maybe I need to buy some sock yarn . . .

10 Responses to "knitting keeps me sane"

Such a cute cardigan, and I’m drooling over the socks and your Sock Pal swag too 🙂 Lucky you!

oh Amanda, I had no idea that August was so terrible for you! Good on you for just making it through to the other side!!!!! I’m sure that Spring will provide you with the opportunity for new beginnings, and the chance for things to heal and get better. It sounds as if you are really hurting over some of the things that have happened at work etc, and you did not say if the spunk will make a full recovery – let us know

Lovely sweater and good looking socks…horrible month of events. So glad you managed to muddle through. Hope things begin looking up very soon. Holidays are good for that!

Ugh, sounds like a monthus horribillus (or something like that) to me. At this point you have to look on the bright side – no-one died…. Here’s to a fabulous Spring 🙂

OMG!! I think that things can only go up from here!! Sorry to hear that you’ve had such a crazy month. Knitting does keep us sane in times of stress. If nothing else having a glazed look while holding pointy sticks means that most people will BACK OFF!! Your co-worker sounds like a real ass, you should pee on her desk. 😉
The cardi is really cute! X-mas prezzies? you’re a better woman than I.

Hey Amanda,
So sorry to hear you’ve been having such an awful time, knitting has helped me through some stressful times too!
The cardi is absolutely beautiful 🙂
I’m also going thru crap with a bullying co-worker, perhaps we could take Larjmarj’s advice and take our knitting to work, minus the yarn, but with glazed looks (hehehe), nice to dream.
I’m sure that September and Spring will be a new start for you, and you WILL conquer your fear of the wheel going anti-clockwise and spin spin, spin spin spin :):)

Very cute 😀 Is yarn magazine worth subscribing to?

Sorry you’ve had such a crap month – hope September brings lots of good things to make up for the crapola – hmm, like maybe some new sock yarn!

September will be great, I know it 🙂

Only knitters understand how much knitting can soothe the soul, if I am stressed or unhappy a quiet place with my needles and wool is all I need. (maybe a glass of merlot too)

Tiny madam’s cardigsn is gorgeous! Have a lovely, restful holiday 🙂

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,231 hits
