amanda j

sockapa woot woot!

Posted on: August 18, 2007

Oh my goodness, I have been spoilt rotten by my Sockapalooza pal! Here is a picture of my socks:

Here is a picture of all the other things she sent me:

I received:

Socks – gorgeous, squishy and warm on a cold Saturday. Knitted in Mountain Colours Weaver’s Wool – Lupine colourway, using ‘Diana’s Trail Socks’ pattern. They are absolutely gorgeous with blue and purple and green and even black.

A SIGNED COPY OF STEPHANIE PEARL-McPHEE CASTS OFF! Addressed to me! Eeeee! I can’t wait to read all of this book. I have started and Stephanie said something that rang so true with me – the appeal of knitting is that IT IS A MAGIC TRICK! The Spunk is forever saying it is amazing how I can turn nothing into something (even if that something is not always what I expected!). I predict this book will only make me love knitting even more, which is a real worry.

Trekking Pro Natura sock yarn in a gorgeous shiny green that the Spunk seems to think will be a pair of socks for him!

Some fibre to spin in the most glorious shades! A huge honking soft and fluffy bag full!

A needle sleeve from Lantern Moon!

Some pretty pretty stationery!

A postcard from Memphis (I’m with you this week Cindy!)!

A lovely card!

A million thank yous Lynn, I am so happy with my parcel, you have spoiled me rotten, and I was rotten enough to begin with!

Quite frankly, I seriously needed a treat at the end of this week. It has been a weekus horribulus like never before. I thought I had bad weeks in the past. This one $h!tS all over the rest of them (pardon my language). No need for details! It’s over now and I am hibernating this weekend and I don’t want to talk to anyone mean, nasty, crazy, stubborn, unreasonable or delusional or think about work because I might just never go back at this point! And I am determinedly sitting here in my pyjamas even though it is midday.

Hm. Anyway, I have been doing some knitting, making this cardigan for Tiny Madam. I am loving the all-in-one of this cardigan. It is so easy and I can’t believe it has taken me so long to try it. I won’t show you yet because it looks like a big ole mess, but it should be finished by tomorrow night if I get my knit together. I just love that I can try it on her as I go and make adjustments. I realise most of you knew about the benefits of top down raglan construction, but I am converted! 

I finished the Montego Bay scarf, which I really like very much. The Naturally Bamboo yarn is very soft and I have a whole ball left. I didn’t fringe it like in the magazine, because I am not necessarily a fringe kind of girl. I have attempted to photograph myself in a mirror.

Other knitting has stalled. I have not done any shawl knitting at all this week; Cindy’s first sock is almost done (although according to her blog she is doing fine making socks for herself!).

I have also been spending an inordinate amount of time on Ravelry, mostly finding more things I want to knit and more yarn I want to buy. Don’t forget if you are on Ravelry to add me to your friends! I am on there as amandaj (of course!).

Catch you on the flip flop.

8 Responses to "sockapa woot woot!"

Wow! What a gorgeous present! I agree, sounds like it is just what you needed after the week you have had. Here’s to a much better rest of the year 😉

Wow! Lucky you 😀 Just when you needed it too! And the scarf is gorgeous 😀

There’s a hunka hunka burnin’ socks and presents there!! How lovely, though I know you agonised over your Pal’s socks!!! I am powering through my socks at the moment: it is my new Uhuras- they really help!!! Sorry to hear you have had a boogelly week. Hope you are enjoying your time away and you feel like going back this week!! Teachers are unappreciated:see our wondrous Minister this week and his willynilly announcements. I bet hE doesn’t work half as hard as yu do and he has an office and staff. Nice scarf and nice Tshirt too!! Arrrgh me hearties!!!

Lovely socks and spoilage from your pal – very lucky!! Hope next week is better for you.

Fantastic parcel!!! I can’t wait to get my hands on that book. I love that it was specially signed just for you.

You LUCKY girl!! great prezzies. I have some mountain colors, this looks like a good pattern for it. Nice to hear that Spunk appreciates your mad knitting skills.

man, what a great surprise! The book is so cool–I can’t wait to see what you knit up! 🙂

Oh you are so lucky to receive such a wonderful package. I havent bought Stephanie’s latest book but I loved her other one. It looks like you will have a few things to keep you cozy at home knitting too.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
