amanda j

the winds of change

Posted on: August 3, 2007

seem to blowing around here at the moment. I have become somewhat obsessed with shawls. I have no idea why this has happened to me, although some of the blame must lie with Ravelry. I keep looking at other people’s work. There is some beautiful stuff out there! At the moment I have two shawls on the go. I have also been wondering how I can make a whole shawl out of only 100g of Koigu that is at the moment languishing as half a sock. Perhaps I will make a small Clapotis? Any ideas? I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE I WOULD WEAR A SHAWL!! HELP!!

This week I have been off work due to influenza and being quarantined. Influenza is a communicable disease, and as such I have not been allowed to enter the workplace. Thank you to everyone who sent kind thoughts and messages to me! It’s nice to receive well wishers from one’s kindred spirits!! I actually realise that if I had not been bullied into going to the doctor I would have been in hospital. I was that sick! What an idiot. Work is not that important! School can function without me!

Here is the progress on Kevat:

Here is another very easy shawl that I cast on based on this pattern:

Here is the Montego Bay scarf:

I dare not show you my progress (or lack thereof) on Cindy’s sock. Likewise I have knit the back and one side of a tiny cardigan and have stalled.

Another thing. Julie finished a Pinwheel Blanket. I want to knit a Pinwheel Blanket! Somebody stop me!!

Finally, I must post my Sockapalooza gift. My pal emailed to let me know the socks are in the mail! How exciting! I still have no idea who she is but she is in Memphis!!

7 Responses to "the winds of change"

Hope you are feeling better soon!!
I don’t know where I’d wear a shawl either, but I’ve got lots of yarn to make them!!! I think rectangular ones are slightly more practical (can wear easily as a scarf) but all of them are lovely. I’d just knit them because they are so beautiful to look at!!

WOW! You aren’t kidding about being obsessed. Three at the same time. Good Luck with that.

You poor honey. I hope you feel better soon!
I love shawls. There’s just something about them isn’t there? A friend in the US has knit me a shawl from her handspun – it is in the mail now and I’m sure Dizzy the Postman thinks I have the hots for him so keen am I for it to arrive. I don’t know where I’m going to wear it, but trust me I will be!!

You will feel better soon, a little wool shopping should help!! I love shawls, but I am not built to wear one!! I am making a stole ( well, it has been started!!) Enjoy your rest. School will get on very well without you. In the end the institution doesn’t care about you, but your family and friends do.

Glad you are feeling better. 🙂

I love shawls too, the look the drape. I would wear mine to the grocery store if I felt like it.

Yikes! Get better! No fun being sick.

1) Get better. 2) Let’s start a shawl wearing epidemic. I am leery of triangular ones worn over the shoulders, I don’t need a giant arrow pointing at my butt… but I like stoles, thrown around the shoulders or worn as a scarf… and I HOPE I will like the pi shawl I have OTN ;-).

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
