amanda j

i succumbed

Posted on: July 20, 2007

Oh dear. I was supposed to wait for the end of July to buy yarn, but I cracked today. I went on an excursion into the city (anyone see lots of kids in uniform in Launceston today? That was me!) and the kids were off on their own and I had to buy some yarn to send to Julie (Hi Julie!! Welcome home! Posting your pressie tomorrow!) and then there was some gorgeous bamboo that I bought to make a scarf for a friend and then there was some Merino Bambino that I had to buy to make something for my newest tiny friend and suddenly I had dropped $60! Woops. However, this doesn’t count does it, because it is all for other people! Don’t worry Nat, I won’t eat for the next 11 days. That should leave plenty of money for yarn.

Here are some pictures:

I have been knitting of course. I have done the back and one front of a cardigan for my newest tiny friend, the heel of the second Opal sock for the spunk and am thinking seriously about the fact that I said I would have a shawl to wear to end of year celebrations and it’s nearly August. Can anyone recommend a nice easy free laceweight shawl pattern that someone with concentration problems and too many children and no time to think could knit?

Cindy‘s Mon vert ami et professeur socquette is coming along slowly but surely. Perhaps I should list WIPs to keep me honest like Katt does. No pics of knitting because there is nothing much interesting to look at.

Finally, here is the present my friend at work gave me (minus a couple of bits and pieces and quite a lot of the chocolate), just for being me! She is going to be the recipient of the bamboo when it becomes a scarf! Shh, don’t tell, it’s a secret.

6 Responses to "i succumbed"

Oh, lovely purchases! What a thoughtful gift from your friend.

I think you did very well. I haven’t bought anything since last week & it was for me.

It is always when you decide not to buy anymore yarn that you find you suddenly don’t have a particular colour in a particular ply.
……… or it’s all just pretty and wants to come home with you.

Ohh I saw a lot of girls in your uniform up near Princes’ Square with worksheets. Was that you??? Oh what lovely purchases and I can see why you liked your gift too!!!
I make little WIP lists every now and then , but Katt is the Mistress of those lists!!! Happy knitting hope your throat is well and you can talk!!!

I do about as well on yarn diets as I do food diets…about a month in and I’m ready to snap!!

I love all the yarn you purchased and cant wait to see the finished items too. I have purchased some of that Merino Bambino too in a teal green color but have not knit with it yet. Is it nice to knit with.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
