amanda j

when will i be cured

Posted on: June 24, 2007

of my shocking procrastinating tendencies? Faithful readers and internet friends may have noticed it has been five days since my last post and that my comments on blogs have been scarce. In that time I have done very very little knitting. Why? Because I had to write two huge honking assignments that were due some time ago and whose extensions were until Friday two days ago. I just emailed them off. One, 6006 words, the other 2260. My hands and brain hurt a lot. Next time I will start early. Yeah right!

I have managed to add another bit to a scarf circle scarf, which I will post tomorrow to Wales. Postage is another little procrastination opportunity for me; I seem to have trouble letting go!

I also finished an Undulating Rib sock. The idea is that these socks will go to the mainland with the MIL on Thursday, but I am not sure if I can pull that off. Considering I am planning to sit and knit for the rest of the evening and will have time at school to do school work rather than my assignments in every spare minute, it might just happen. Here is where we stand right now.

On Friday, after what may have been one of the longest days at work ever (arrived 8:00am, left 5:45pm, naughty students, stressed parents, shocking discoveries, rehearsals, making myself heard in a gymnasium, visiting artists and choreographers, general Pushme-Pullme behaviour) I arrived home to be greeted by friends and a lovely dinner AND THIS:

Julie and I have had a little exchange organised, just the two of us! Here is what I got:

  • Junior Mints, Starburst, Oreos, Skittles, M&Ms (s0me of which have since been devoured!)
  • A Chibi
  • Panda Wool (yum! Such pretty yarn in suc lovely colours!)
  • Kid Merino (gorgeous kiwi colour!)
  • A notebook (ooh, I Heart Stationery!)
  • A card

My parcel for Julie is almost together and will be posted Wednesday. I am including some Australian delicacies – Violet Crumbles, Pollywaffle and TimTams to name but a few. Watch out Julie!

Finally, we made it to dancing and it was FUN! I even managed to progress without too much trouble. I just averted my eyes to cover my antisocial tendencies. I can’t wait for Tuesday.

8 Responses to "when will i be cured"

You have been up against, but now you’ve earned some knitting time. I loathe deadlines – good luck with yours.

You just work best under pressure!! Lovely swap and I am glad you enjoyed the dancing!!! Good Luck with the UR sock!!!

ugh, I hate long days at work! Hope your week improves!

Ooh! I’m so glad your parcel arrived safely! Hope you enjoy it all! I love those little notebooks for writing down pattern reps for on-the go.

Procrastination is what stresses me so much, yet I seem unable to really sit and work on my assignments until they were due yesterday.

I do seem to be doing better this term, 1 assignment handed in a week early ( not sure what happened there), one handed in at 9am…….. it was due at 5 pm and another due this friday……. and I am sitting here blog reading and flicking through knitting magazines ……….

I found that if I started on my uni assignments early I gathered way too much info and ended up typing the assignment at the last minute anyway!

Take a well-earned break before the next semester!

Oh dear I have to admit that I hated school so the thought of assignments make me go weak at the knees! You deserve some serious r&r now.

You are apologising for not posting and blog reading? At least you have valid reasons unlike some of us 😦

“Violet Crumbles, Pollywaffle and TimTams”, your snacks just SOUND better! I’ll bet they taste good too. How long does it take to get to OZ from TAZ?

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
