amanda j

trawling, shopping, knitting, learning, giving, eating

Posted on: June 13, 2007

Guess what? I was trawling some blogs the other day and I found a reference to Magic Loop. Click. Read. AHA! Suddenly it all made perfect sense to me. I managed to cast on, split, pinch and knit without even looking at the instructions again! Isn’t it amazing how that can happen sometimes. It’s called ‘just in time’ learning. I was not ready for this technique before. I am now. Here is the start of a sock for the MIL1 who is wearing the one pair of socks I knitted her for Christmas every time I see her. She will be receiving some Embossed Leaves for her birthday in July; these are for the mean time.

Yesterday I went to our one and only independent LYS to buy some supplies for baby knitting. I have mentioned the pregnant friend before. She is now very pregnant and I had started obsessing about knitting some tiny trousers. When I was in the LYS, I finally worked out why going there is not exciting. Everything is wrapped in plastic! The shelves are literally stocked to the ceiling with yarn of all kinds. There was even some bamboo which I am going to have to go back and buy when I diminish the stash. But it was wrapped in plastic! I want to feel the yarn. I don’t want to have to take block after block of shrink wrapped yarn to the counter for someone to open and wait for them to dole out the goodies! Surely they could sacrifice at least one ball for the touchers and strokers like me? It is very perplexing. Baby trousers . . . cast on. One leg almost done (Magic Looping again!):

Today we went out of the house together! We ventured to Devonport, to the Imaginarium Science Centre (dorks and nerds, the lot of us). We had a lovely time solving a mystery and the kids really enjoyed the interactive nature of the exhibit. We will return!

We ate fish and chips down by the water at The Bluff and fed the seagulls the left overs. I was a tiny bit worried that they would burn their gullets. I do not like birds very much. They flap about and are far too erratic for my tastes. I like my animals to be predictable, which could be why I don’t like many animals at all. Turtles are okay. I think I could outrun a turtle. Purl took pictures and then most inconveniently took her camera with her to her Gran’s house! I shall share them at a later date.

On the way back to Launceston we stopped at the all time most amazing shop in the whole wide world – Reliquaire. Dodgy site, great place. They have so much stuff in this shop, and we can not be in that part of the world without the Spunk getting some of their home made fudge. It is perfectly delicious. They had some very cool bags which would be perfect for knitting projects, but as I have about a kabillion bags anyway I did not purchase anything!

The Sockapalooza socks should be done tonight. I have finished the gusset so now it’s just a couple of leaves to go. I will photograph these in some kind of real light tomorrow to show you the final product.

Finally, when I dropped Purl at Mother’s house this afternoon, mother presented me with something:

Ooh! Sock yarn in a gift! Yay! Perfect. Then, she told me that the intention was that I should knit socks for a certain blogger who loves green who is going to make me a sock tote! Ms 2Paw is the only person who knows of the secret connection between Mother (who blogs too) and I! Mother was in the BSODL(tm) searching for the next yarn fix when she found two balls of green yarn. You see Cindy! Karma is a powerful thing! Now bloggers, tell me what to knit for Cindy!! All suggestions welcome.

Now I am off to eat one of my very favourite things in the whole world – Dave’s Noodles! Woo hoo!

6 Responses to "trawling, shopping, knitting, learning, giving, eating"

What pattern are you using for the baby pants? I am planning on using cloth nappies, and am thinking about knitting wool pants and soakers….

Yep, that whole plastic thing sounds pretty awkward. What, do they have really dirty-handed customers or something? Ick. The baby trous are way too adorable, and you are clearly the sock queen. Good for both of you.

cant wait to see the finished sockapaloooosa socks! and green sock yarn is jsut the thing for cold feet! green is one of my favourite colours! teh bluff looks just gorgeous!

magic loop method is great!! i have never ever knit socks with dpns!! i hardly ever knit with dpns actually!!

I LOVE Daves HotBox!!!!! Mmmmmmmm my fave

Mmmm fo Cindy…she likes socks..short ones..and has small feet like me (I can tell you that cos I was her secret santa last year)..and I can recommend cable socks (cos she likes cable socks)…Does that help?

One day I might be brave and try magic loop for socks.

cant wait to see finished knitting

Katt

Magic loop is my method of choice for socks…and anything else that I can use it for! I had to get my daughter to show me how it was done (me being a very visual learner!) before I fell in love with it. All those dpns just seemed to get in my way. Enjoy your next pair of socks with magic loop.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,231 hits
