amanda j

hallelujah! we have socks!

Posted on: June 7, 2007

Here are my Sockapalooza socks!

They are working! And they are so lovely! This is Embossed Leaves from Favourite Socks in merino cashmere ‘Strawberry’ from The Knittery. I have to say it is one of the most intuitive patterns I have ever knit – I am having no trouble with it whatsoever and the leaves just appear! I am fairly sure it will be the first pattern apart from my vanilla pattern from Patons that I will knit again. In fact, I think I will make them for my MIL1 for her birthday. Shh – don’t tell! Now my only anxiety about Sockapalooza is that my swap pal had asked for something ‘different’. I guess they are different for me because I haven’t made them before!

Being the ADKD (Attention Deficit Knitting Disorder) sufferer that I am, I could not resist casting on another sock:

This is Waving Lace, also from Favourite Socks, using Patter from Katt. This too is an intuitive pattern and makes perfect sense as I am knitting it. My yarn overs are bigger in one half of the pattern than the other, but I am liking them very much. They are for me!

I should finish these tonight:

Purl is away for the night so I would like to have these done for her when she returns. You might be able to see the pale yarn that is the waste where I will put the afterthought heel. I sent her off today with MY MONKEY SOCKS ON with threats of death if they either a) get hurt or b) get left behind. Then she was so paranoid she showed me a hole she thought she had made – lucky for her it was a yarn over hole. Maybe I should make her a pair. Hm.

I tidied up my sock yarn the other day:

There is enough yarn there for 8 pairs – quite a paltry stash compared to some! It really could do with some enhancing. However, I am going to knit as much of this as I can before December and then reward myself with yarn bought with other people’s money, as I am planning on asking for money for my birthday this year! Hahaha! I can never think of anything I want so this is the perfect plan as far as I can gather.

While I am really enjoying my socks, my ADKD has me thinking about knitting trousers/pants for babies. My friend is due to have a baby in four weeks and I tested the water yesterday by showing her Knitty.com and looking at some of the baby patterns. She does not know whether she is having a boy or girl, which is most inconvenient! I will wait until the baby is born to make the pants, because I would like them to be gender specific. She is a fantastic friend who loves hand made items. In fact, the two of us were discussing Etsy . . . perhaps I am getting closer to knitting for food?

16 Responses to "hallelujah! we have socks!"

Look at those beautiful socks. Whyhaven’t I made those?? I think I have the pattern in an IK somewhere!!! I ‘found’ sock wool in my organisation. I found 2 lots!! I am afraid to count!! I almost have an Etsy shop. I have to ask Sharon or Katt what to do next, but it is very cool!! We can be the Apple Isle Mafia/Knittia all together: a bloc!!!
How funny that Purl was panicking already!! You have her running sock scared!!!

The embossed leaves look fabulous in that colour! How can your pal not be happy with those!

gorgeous socks! I’ve knitted 2 pairs of embossed leaves and am planning on a third pair!

Beautiful embossed leaves – I made this pattern and loved it. I really should make another pair since the one I made was a gift for someone else! Very nice yarn stash!

You are a sock maven! The embossed leaves are divine.

I did the Embossed Leaves in lavender Wildfoote, and I love them. I want to do them again! Yours look terrific!

Gorgeous socks!

I love those socks. I think I have the pattern here somewhere.

Those socks look gorgeous! Love the color. I have to say, knitting socks is the one thing I do just for ME. =)

Fun stuff!
Bev Q
http://www.bevscountrycottage.com

your socks look awesome!! 🙂

I love your description, since the system here is blocking pictures. I will dream of your socks, wish they were mine and look when I am finally back on my own system
It is really irritating, I have gotten so used to pictures!

so absolutly perfect.

The Strawberry Socks are BEA-U-TI-FUL!!!!! The color really brings out the pattern!!!

Those socks all look gorgeous! I am loving how Patter is knitting up too!

Only 8 pair of socks? I added mine up the other day. I have enough for 44 adult pair of socks..and 4 pair of children socks!…I think I have a problem..Though I told Adam that unless the sock wool is 50% off..I wont be buying anymore until I knit up a heap.

If you want me to dye up some unisex colourway for you to knit said preggers friend some baby pants drop me a line (you know what they look like in Buggy cos there is a piccie on my blog)..

Katt

I did pull on pants for mine when they were young. As long as the mom is not looking for snaps and is willing to take the pants off for diaper changes, there is no problem. No matter what the pattern calls for, you need ribbing (lots) around the top or they will slide down over the bum.
-Holly

Ohhh…love the embossed leaves, of course they are on my list of to-do’s. Nice job. ADKD…LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
