amanda j

i refuse to be a sockapaloser

Posted on: June 4, 2007

My sockapalooza yarn arrived and looks lovely. Since she asked for not blue, they will be red!

I am going to make the Embossed Leaves (scroll down a bit) pattern because it is pretty and looks not too hard. I know I said I wasn’t going to talk about these socks until they were done, but I decided that I believe more in self fulfilling prophecies than hexes and jinxes, so I WILL CAST THESE SOCKS ON TODAY, AND THEY WILL BE BEAUTIFUL. Take that fate! 

I have finished the Baudelaires. I have just been knitting like crazy on these things, and I  finally memorised the pattern repeat, with only one repeat to go! I have been thinking about how nice the pattern would look in a scarf. What do you think? Anyway, here is a photo. I almost undid the top of the one I finished months ago because I just cast it off loosely and it looks different but not so you’d notice.

These socks taught me:

  1. I really do love purple.
  2. UFOs can become FOs with just a bit more knitting!
  3. I detest ribbing.
  4. The upside down heel flap looks good, but I am not sure that you can tell how much effort went into it! It took me bleeding hours to do! I do not like wrapping and turning AT ALL. :p
  5. You should not knit, talk, drink coffee and take painkillers if you want things to run smoothly.
  6. If things do not run smoothly you can sometimes fudge it – I mean, who is going to be getting down on hands and knees to scrutinise my knitting? No one I have met yet!

I cast on the second sock for Purl last night for some mindless knitting while watching television. I decided to do the second sock top down, just like I did with the Spunk’s socks. I am not sure why I have done this, except for the fact that I really really don’t like doing the sewn cast off. It look messy to me. Anyhow, I have done this much so far:

I had the best morning (apart from the point where I woke up and stretched my arms above my head and pulled a muscle in my neck. Yep, that’s how tense I am. Sitting here in pain waiting for the next ibuprofen dose) because I talked to my pen pal Kelly in Florida on Skype with actual voices!! I have no fancy equipment whatsoever, just my laptop with its built in microphone and speakers. We talked for over half an hour, and it was great! Hi Kelly! Admittedly Tiny Madam found it all a bit strange. She left her game of The Sims to check out what I was doing, gave me a funny look and went back to her game.

13 Responses to "i refuse to be a sockapaloser"

The baudelaires look beautiful – I really need to try this pattern! Hope your pulled muscle gets better quickly!

Lovely Baudelaires!! they look perfect!! I am doing the heel. I knitted all afternoon to get to the heel!! I hope to be at the gusset by bedtime!! Then it’s only 36 rows and the toe. I will have these knocked over DEFINITELY by the end of the week. Oh your poor neck. Have you tried a wheat pillow heated up?? They help!! I have very positive thoughts about the Sockapalooza sock. It WILL be great!! I only like top down, I’ve tried toe up and I don’t like it!!!

Pretty socks! And Embossed Leaves is a great pattern choice. It’s so lovely. You’ll do a great job!

The Baudelaires look fantastic–I agree that the pattern would make a great scarf. And who doesn’t want a scarf that matches their socks?

Love the lovely purple socks. And embossed leaves is a fabulous pattern – my favourite of the socks I’ve knit so far!

There should be more purple socks in the world!
Looking very nice indeed!!

Try turning the socks inside out, then doing the sewn bind-off/. Most people hate it– then try this, and viola! Happiness ensues.

Wow! Those are gorgeous!

Love the socks, I haven’t done patterned socks yet but those are very tempting, perhaps in green. Glad you got your package, they went round the world very quickly.

1) I am impressed with the socks
2) is that STR in the same colourway I had (for Purl)
3) if tiny madam can play Sim (one or two by the way?) then I am impressed! My girls seem to forget to feed them, teach them or send them off to school/work! lol
4) tell me more about the skype thing!?!? I think one of my friends might have it too..does it cost anything? She has it free through a game she plays.
5) I hope your neck feels better real soon. My has stopped after a few weeks of being painful..

Katt

Yummy yummy purple!! I think the pattern would look great in a scarf!
Embossed leaves is on my list.

omg those embossed leaves! The Baudelaires are gorgeous too.

I LOVE those Baudelaires. Such a beautiful color.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
