amanda j

into the groove

Posted on: June 1, 2007

I am now on holidays for two whole weeks and two days! Yay! In that time I will:

  • Relax and recover from a very busy school term
  • Knit at least four pairs of socks. I am counting the two pairs I am knitting – so these will be finished and so will two more pairs
  • Attempt to spend a good amount of time spinning
  • Begin a crochet blanket (which I actually started today but the skinny strip was claimed by a Tiny Madam who thought it would be much better as a snake!). I have only ever crocheted granny squares a la 1978 around and around, but this will be single crochet rows. I enjoyed the bit I did today, but I am using some scratchy Kmart acrylic, the whole time imagining how nice it would be to be using an expensive yarn. I will persist and make sure I can manage a whole big project before investing in more yarn. It can go to charity or in the car. Besides, if I use all this stuff up, I can fill the hole in the stash with something nicer!

As promised, here are some photos. I have been Baudelaire-ing. Ms 2paw and I had a Baudelairealong going months ago. I finished one sock and left it for ages, then cast on another and left that for ages. I picked it up last night and have managed to do quite a bit. I am looking forward to finishing these socks, because they are quite impressive looking and also quite sturdy. The pattern is really quite easy . . . so I am going to get this done quickly.

I have been working on the STR sock for Purl. Again I am doing an afterthought heel which I must say I really really like. Speaking of which, under the Purl socks are the SuperSpunks Holy Guacamole socks. He looks good in them, don’t you think?

I did my section of the Scarf Circle Scarf. I mentioned my gauge issues last post (psst is there anyone reading because I only got one comment and that scares me! Have you all been abducted??) but realised that the scarf already was inny outy before I got it because there is some rib and some feather and fan and some chevron, and that’s just the nature of the beast project.

11 Responses to "into the groove"

Happy holidays!
Of course we are reading, even if we don’t comment 😉

Hi there! Thanks for your vote of confidence in my sockapalooooza sock! You are so lucky to have a holiday to knit in! Nice purple baudelaire!

Oh, I have 20 rows and the toe to do on Professor Plum and I can start my second Upside down Baudelaire with you!!! Have an absolutely lovely holiday!! You deserve it!!!

I like the Baudelaires. What is the yarn you are using for that? It is pretty!

I read your blog religiously every chance I get! You’ve given me hope of getting the beaudelaires done some day!

Love the socks – I haven’t tried the Baudelaire yet but it looks like a great pattern! The SuperSpunks socks are very cute! Enjoy your holiday!

Of course we are reading your blog.
And hitting time that not so much knitting happens is pretty normal. New Yarn is great – but this hits me everything I finish up something that has been hanging over my head for a while.
I might be down to taking pictures of the boxes in the back of my van, it is so quite here.

Love how your STR socks are pooling! Wee chunks of color in a spiral. I’m sure Purl will love them.

Cripes! That’s an ambitious list – hope it goes well.

Yay for holidays with plenty of knitting time. Four pairs of socks? Are you planning on doing anything in those holidyas besides knit? ;p

“Real” puppets are professional puppets like you see on the Muppet show. I’ll have to take a pic for my blog someday. So have you signed up for Skype? I’d love to chat!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
