amanda j

i quit!

Posted on: May 26, 2007

No more posts about Sockapalooza until something goes right. I have knitted and knitted and knitted. The Undulating Rib socks from the previous post are no more. I am not talking about it. I have jinxed and hexed myself somehow. Suffice to say, I am knitting something, and you will just have to wait and see what it is.

I have almost finished the second sock for the Spunk. I will photograph them tomorrow on his feet. They look good!

Today I was listening to Cast On, which is a fabulous podcast and one I highly recommend. It was the end of this series and Brenda mentioned that next series she is going to be running a ‘camp’ where you can earn badges and sing along to campfire songs. I was a Brownie for a number of years and became a sixer (leader). But, I never did a badge! Not one! I can still say the Brownie pledge. I happily shone my little brass pin and brown shoes every week. I wonder why I could never commit to a badge? Were any of you guides/scouts/adventurers/campfire girls? How many badges did you earn?

Tonight I am going to that Scottish play, presented by the Bell Shakespeare Company. I am quite looking forward to it, despite it being with kids from school! One day soon I might get through a weekend without interacting with some of my students!

I got an extremely good mark on an assignment – 85% – and to congratulate myself I am thinking of buying this:

Did anyone else watch Growing Pains? Apart from George Michael (I know, I know!) Kirk Cameron was my first love! (Picture somewhat shamefully stolen from 80s tees.) Check out this site! There is some seriously cool stuff.

 

13 Responses to "i quit!"

Oh, good idea to make the Sockapalooza a secret!! I watched Growing Pains a bit- Matthew Perry was on it: Could it BE any better??
Oh the Scottish Play. I’ve seen the ads have a wonderful time, even with kids from school. I was never a scout, guide, brownie or whatever. How did you NOT ever earn a badge??? I think you should buy a badge on Ebay!!!

Brownies yes I remember that I was one can remember doing my Hostess and Collectors Badge. We had great camps and these were themed. I was then a Salvation Army Guard and not only did far to many badges but my Highest Award the Generals Guard. Actually I even still assess knitting for guards and sumbeams.I wish I could get the little soldier toy pattern we used to knit.

I never did any of the scout troops, just lots of camping with the family.

I’m sorry that your sockapaloooza socks are elluding your attempts at beauty! Good luck!

Ugh…I know that feeling. I always think of it as “bad yarn karma,” and often need to start over with new yarn to stop the trend.

I was a Brownie, too, though I can’t recall why I stopped. In first grade (6 years old) my grandma took me out to buy my little uniform, which I LOVED and wore to school with so much pride! Also, I remember selling calendars as a fundraiser (some grouchy old guy told me I’d have better luck if I was selling cookies). But somewhere along the line–and outside the realm of memory–I stopped being a Brownie. Perhaps when we moved during third grade? I’ll have to ask my mom.
BTW: Sorry for your dark & rainy weather…I’ll try to share lots of our spring with you on my blog šŸ™‚

I was a Brownie and a Girl Scout until almost the end of high school. Growing up in a small town, the girls in my troop pretty much remained the same the entire time. Most of us quit when all the requirements we had been working toward (LOTS of badges!) for Senior Scout (or whatever it was called) were changed and required an extra year committment. My mom probably still has my badge sash, unless I threw it out when cleaning out her house when she moved! And the cookies we used to sell for 50 cents a box are now $3.50 a box…guess I’m REALLY old now! As for your knitting problems, you have my sympathy. I have recently ripped three times on one sock…and it’s still not finished. My last day of school was yesterday, so summer knitting time may help my concentration. Good luck on the new sock!

Ooo! I loved Kirk Cameron too!!!! That shirt is RAD! And thanks for the link to the 80s tees! They have everything! šŸ™‚

Hi Amanda, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving the comment. I did have holes in the (k1,p1,k1) into the same stitch at the beginning, that was when I p1 in the usual way (through the front loop). Later, I tried p1 through the back loop and the holes seemed to have diminished a lot in size. If you don’t know how to purl through the back loop, just google it.
Shakespeare play! That sounds wonderful! Wish you have an enjoyable evening. šŸ™‚

The shirt is so 80’s I love it.
The 80’s for me were filled with the sex pistols, punk new wave and a plethora of bad hair styles. Or so I’m told šŸ˜‰ my memory MAY be a bit foggy.

Bugger abut that sock. Maybe finishing the Spunk’s socks will return the mojo.

Never was a Brownie etc – we played lots of sport. I doubt there was anything left in the family budget for other uniforms and equipment. I had a friend at school who was expelled from the Brownies for telling Brown Owl to “sit on it”, like they did on Happy Days.

I tried undulating rib too and it was a disaster. I had holes. And what’s with the huge needle size? I know a lot of peopel love that pattern, but I just couldn’t get it to work for me. Boo.

Sorry to hear that the Sock Goddess isn’t being kind to you at the moment šŸ˜¦
I went to Spotshite yesterday and bought some Magic Stripes – eek!!

I was a huge dissapointment to my mum, cos I only ever became a seconder, and earnt about 5 badsges, then never went to guids. My mum was a queens guide, which meant she had all of the badges! as i said, huge disappointment!

I know how you feel about plooza socks, mine aren’t going quite as smoothly as planned either. I’m sure you will end up knitting bootifuk socks in the end though

I was a Guide for 3 1/2 years(Patrol Leader for one year), a Ranger for 4 years (Patrol Leader for two years), a Brownie leader (Brown Owl) for five years and secretary and president (total three years) of the Guide support group (formerly called Local Association) when DD was in Guides (she was also a patrol leader). My mother was a Brownie, Guide and Ranger, and also a Brownie leader in England. She was our Guide Captain for my last year in Guides. I stayed one extra year to help her out. My younger sister, under my mum’s captaincy, earnt her Queen’s Guide, just like mum! I was too old by the time I knew there was such a thing! Camping in Rangers using two man tents with everything in our packs (including clothes, food, cooking utensils, tents and sleeping bags) weighing less than 20 pounds (9kg) was a lot different from the bell tents we used in Guides! Then it was Captain’s responsiblity to bring everything except our personal items!
I sympathise with your sock problems; I, too, am having difficulty, but I think it’s just a lack of experience in using two circulars! See my blog for the whole story.
http://2hot2knit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
