amanda j

indecisions, indecisions . . .

Posted on: May 24, 2007

Oh dear. I have changed my mind again. The Retro Rib pattern is very cool and I got to here:

(another bad photo!)

and decided that this pattern was not doing the yarn justice either. This yarn is destined to be a plain stocking stitch sock pair. So, I ripped it all out. The sole of the foot above looks fabulous and I can’t wait to knit these socks. But I will be keeping them for myself. For my sock pal, I have started a pair of Undulating Rib socks from my well thumbed Favourite Socks book. So far, so good. I am using the Hot Socks that Sue sent me; it is really soft and nice. I have finished the cuff:

Am I putting too much thought into this? Is there any such thing as too much thought when it comes to knitting. Is anyone else having this much trouble committing to a sock and yarn combo? Have they invented Knitalin for those of us with Knitting ADHD?

I finished the toe up afterthought heel sock and really liked this method of knitting a heel. It’s just a toe!

It fits the Spunk very well. However, I could not seem to get the figure 8 toe to work the other night, and decided to do the second sock top down. I am glad I am at a point in my sock knitting life that I am fine with making a ‘pair’ that don’t match. The Spunk informed me today that he threw out a pair of socks, and there are more on the way out, and he would like to have knitted socks to replace them. Looks like I had better get my skates on! In the picture above you can see how much of the second sock I had at the start of the afternoon. This is what I have after three hours and two coffees with Mum:

Some more of Katt’s yarn arrived the other day!

Thanks Katt! Delicious as ever. The Delphinium (blue and purple) now belongs to Mother. I am keeping the Patter (pinks) in case my friend has a girl – she’s due in seven weeks! Every part of me believes it’s a boy, but I have been wrong before. Once or twice.

In the post today, there was another scarf to add to!

This one requires red, black or white. I will have to see if I can find something in the stash – otherwise it’s off to the shops for me this weekend. It contains Cascade 220 which is yet another yarn I have not knitted with as it requires paying postage. I was interested to fondle it today.

And there you have it. Another working week almost over for me. It is cold, wet and windy tonight. It’s only 5:11pm but it’s almost dark outside. The perfect evening for curling up with a sock on the needles.

7 Responses to "indecisions, indecisions . . ."

mmmm, sock yarn… must resist… must resist 🙂

I don’t think you are overthinking things. I’m glad that you were able to take a step back and call over with the sock if you weren’t loving it.

Choosing a sock pattern for someone you know is hard enough, I admire your perseverance in finding the perfect match for your sock pal.

I am not one to talk about socks, how many are languishing that I got annoyed with??? Far too many!

I’ve tagged you! Your it!

Ugh! I HATE having issues like that with a sock yarn!! The same thing happened to me with Claudia’s Handpainted an it nearly drove me insane.

oh you are so very talented, and these are so amazing…i have been reading your blog for awhile , along with a dozen others and wish upon wish that i had the talent for making socks…..i tried one and it was so pathetic…..please tell me your best source book for help…..

your multi * talented and it’s great:] keep that knitting fashion looks very intense but oodles of fun:]

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,180 hits
