amanda j

yarn, you’ll be a scarf soon

Posted on: April 26, 2007

I found ANZAC Day to be quite productive on the knitting front. I did not march this year, for the first time in quite a while. The SuperSpunk did and Purl and I stayed home. For a while. Then we went to Spotlight but it wasn’t open! I wanted a button to finish off the cardigan, but I didn’t get one from there! We then headed off to get coffee/white hot chocolate and back home again. I decided to steal a button from a pair of pants that I never wear due to them being ultra scratchy and me having sensitive skin. I can’t bring myself to throw them out, so I am constantly moving them to get to something else! So, I have a button, and here is a picture:

I like it, although in this picture it looks a bit like a sack. Hm.

I have decided to make a more simple scarf with the yarn I won, so here it is:

How to!

I have finished one sock in the STR Fairgrounds, and almost one sock for the SuperSpunk. For the life of me I can not photograph the STR sock, so I will wait until there are two. Here is a progress shot of the grey sock. Why do men have to have such big feet?

I am happy with both. The STR will be so warm and cosy, which at the moment sounds very good, because the weather has turned quite frosty around here! It only reached 16 degrees Celsius today. I am very glad we had our camp last week and not this week, because although it was chilly at night they days were lovely.

Finally, here is a picture of a sheep, expertly painted by the Tiny Madam at Kindy today. What a lovely, happy sheep. Brainwashing children? Me? Never!!

7 Responses to "yarn, you’ll be a scarf soon"

I am so glad it isn’t just me who can’t knit branching out with people around. I wish I could…..

Maybe mens feet are so big so we can prove how much we care. I mean no one is gonna knit a whopping big sock for someone they don’t care about….

Or maybe it’s so they get their share of knitterly love. Seeing as most men won’t wear much knitwear in general, they make it up in socks.

Men’s feet. Those Samuel Clemens socks nearly bored me to death they were so long, endlessly long!! I think I need a ,odelled picture of the Cardi. I am impressed that the BSODL was closed as a sign of respect!!! TM’s sheep is very happy indeed and saves a lot of money on dyeing wool as well!!!

I don’t even want to go there with either men’s feet or socks. The only advantage I see to hand knit socks for the DH is that he knows that he will not have long to live if they are left on the floor. So they do go in the wollwasch sock bag.

Unlike all the other socks which seem to migrate around the floor, from room to room unless taken out and killed by the dog.

Men do have large feet. I am just glad that all the men I have had to deal with are no bigger then mens size 10!! I couldnt imagine having to do them for a size 14 or the like!!! And I have small feet (not that I often knit for me).

Yes the weather has gotten lovely and cold..perfect knitting weather

As for my birthday. I turned 29..If even numbers are worse…I am not looking forward to next year when I turn 30!!

Katt

And whoy should we not brainwash children into believing in ‘lovely, happy sheep’? 🙂

Men’s socks? I have yet to try!

Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving your wishes for my birthday – the comments from knitting friends are very special.

I have taught my kids to say that “sheep are mummy’s favourite”… LOL!

My husband wears a US 12 shoe size. Big feet! Since mine are quite big, too, I enjoy knitting for my mom’s tiny little tootsies. But I can tell he wants a pair of hand-knit socks, so I’ll soon cast on for the lengthy process of knitting two semi-boring (nothing fancy) socks. Love the sheep art! And your scarf, too.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,151 hits
