amanda j

and we’re off

Posted on: April 17, 2007

Well, I am. To camp tomorrow for two nights. Wish me luck – I may just need it.

In knitting news, I have completed the first section of my scarf and sent it off on its way around the world. It was quite an ordeal to get it past the postman! I had to sign forms and show my driver’s licence, declaring that I was only posting some knitwear and chocolate! Then he stuck stickers all over the envelope and off it went.

Here is my bit:

The Country Silk cardigan is all sewn up, waiting for a button. It fits, I like it and I will wear it, so that is very exciting! Hooray. I have cast on another garment for me. 

I also received my Knitterly Letter, from the lovely Kelly which was very exciting. I am going to sit down tonight and write back! Yay! I have a penpal!!

I have listened to two books through my ipod lately. What a good idea! I can ‘read’ and knit at the same time. The first was The Dark Room and the second Blowfly by Patricia Cornwell. I am a big crime fan, and both stories had some twists and turns, and it was amazing how quickly the novels went. Thanks Holly for the idea!

8 Responses to "and we’re off"

International postal service is funny right now, I’ve taken to sending the ball bands with yarn & my phone #, I’ve been called twice by US customs agents worried because wool is an agricultural product.

that is how I got started on the audio books, recommendations from a friend. If your library has Agatha Christie, those are also great listens.

Budespost has been no issues, nor has the US post on mailing to OZ. It is a hoot that it is harder from your end!

That explains the change in the weather! Hope you have a lovely time.

I also listen to novels while I am knitting or walking – but I usually borrow mine from the library. I used up too much internet download time one month downloading podcasts and librivox books!

Enjoy camp! The scarf looks great. I listen to podcasts while I walk. I get too distracted by the sights to keep up with a novel 🙂

Oh, what a great Scarf idea, and letter writing too!! A lost art I am always meaning to revive!!! Happy Camping: Hi de hi!!!

I am a crime book fan too!! Patricia Cornwell, Jonathon Kellerman, James Paterson those sort of book. Sue Grafton is good too…

Katt

Hope you catch up on your sleep. I am glad that you like the prize too, and I cannot wait to see what you make with it. I went to Spotlight, and the Lion Brand Chenille looks thick and wonderful, nice colors too. The boucle is okay, and I already had some of the Lion Brand self striping sock yarn, but have not used it yet. I bought quite a bit of the brightly colored Cara cotton and I hope it knits up nicely, and then I can go and get some more of it. Have fun knitting some more of that scarf too, it looks like unusual yarn.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
