amanda j

apparently for some of us . . .

Posted on: April 14, 2007

. . . the problem started early. This is me, around twenty five years ago!

Oh yeah, and my brother. I have been looking for this photo for ages, I could remember it so clearly. Mum found it and scanned it, and emailed it yesterday. Note the double strands. I think maybe I was knitting another pair of slippers like you can see on my feet!! Love it! What about you? Any evidence of early knitting? Please share!

Also, just for fun, here is a picture of what my Dad has just bought – a 1954 Morris Minor. That’s us going for a very slow spin around the block!

I think his will be a midlife crisis I can handle!

6 Responses to "apparently for some of us . . ."

No early pictures of knitting here. In fact, I have no pictures before ~ 1970. I have no idea what happened to any of the childhood pix.
Here the old car mania is VW Beetles….

You look so pleased with your little project. I don’t have any early knitting pics, I guess I was about 8 when my sister taught me to knit.
At least your dad didn’t get a Porche! Cute car…putt putt putt

I don’t have any pics but I remember being about 8 or so and knitting this ghastly bright red acrylic rectangle, and then another, which Mum sewed into a vest for me. I remember being extremely disappointed that she wouldn’t let me use the “nice” red wool in her stash.

no early pic here either but if i did it would be around the same age and same thing as we had a lounge that looked like that. I remember making toy soldiers for brownies for the childrens hospital wish I could ger the pattern again.

How cute are you kids?! I’m very impressed you have such early evidence. I was such an impatient juvenile knitter and my mother such a perfectionist that all early work was unravelled repeatedly in the search for perfection and usually abandonded after the second or third go.

Love your Dad’s Morris – a very quirky midlife purchase – better than a boat or a Harley!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
