amanda j

i do feel like dancin’!

Posted on: April 13, 2007

It has been a good week this week! I have not been at work . . . I guess that has a lot to do with the sort of week I have had.

First of all, I have almost completed an assignment for Uni – here is a picture of my Monkey socks on top of a pile of reading:

The assignment will be finished today, which will allow me to move on to all the other school work I have to get done by Monday. Next week will be another good week, but in a very different way. I am off to camp! šŸ˜›

I have had some time to work with some raw fleece from the Op Shop. You can almost see me behind the bag – it is huge!

Unfortunately, the fleece feels so disgusting and dry I was having troubleĀ even touchingĀ it, hence I took these from the SuperSpunk (I am serious, he is quite famous around here for his pink gloves!):

However, I found that it was too difficult to work with gloves, and had to take them off and get my hands dirty. Ugh. Here is me ‘under the house’:

I wasn’t too happy, but the cat was loving it:

Mmmeoow! Fleece!

Anyway, I washed and dried quite a bit of fleece, and have been spinning a little bit. I have had some great advice from some lovely people hereĀ and here (thanks!) to do with plying, but have not spun enough yet to try it out. I should get this done soonish. I am already nervous about it!

I have also signed up for SockapaloozaĀ 4, which is very exciting. I need to stop with the signing up for things now though, or I will not have the time nor money to get everything done that needs doing. I am also involved in a scarf circle at the Lime and Violet message board, and have to knit six inches of scarf to post Monday. The idea is that the scarf will travel around the world, starting with me and will be added to by eleven others! So the twelve of us will end up with a long scarf that has a section knitted by all of us! Isn’t that cool?

As well this week, someone turned 7. One of the Grandma’s arrived with this, guaranteeing herself more knitted socks!

And to round it all off, some friends arrived with this, which may or may not have been chosen purely based on what was on the label!

TGIF!!

3 Responses to "i do feel like dancin’!"

That is a lot of fleece, have fun! Merlot, my favourite, I do hope you are keeping that bottle.

You are a courageous lady, taking on a fleece. I still have three that are gently aging, since I am much happier spinning pretties with the same time.
It is a great learning experience….(grin)

Try not to stress yourself out about plying. I think the best way to experiment with spinning is to get rid of your expectations, that way you can relax and will most likely get better results. If you stuff up some of your fleece and make a knotty skanky rat-tail, so what?? We’ve all made them. Have fun learning!!! All the best, *Wen*

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
