amanda j

knitterly letter swap!

Posted on: April 2, 2007

Yay! I am in both swap/exchange thingies that I signed up for on the weekend. I received email this morning with details of the person I need to write to! I am so excited! She is in Canada, but she doesn’t have a blog. Part of my letter will be trying to convince her to start one; it has been one of the most inspirational and fun things I have done in my knitting world so far.

Because she has no blog, I have lots of information about her in the email. Now I am worried I haven’t given enough info for the person who is going to write to me . . . I guess, if you are reading pen pal you can look at my answers to the Knitter’s Treat Exchange questionnaire for some information about me, or just read through my archives! I can’t wait to receive a letter!!

In knitting news, I have finished my brown cardigan apart from the sewing up, and it looks really good. I hope I have knitted something I will actually wear, apart from socks of course. As well, I am up to the heel on the second Monkey sock, and halfway down the leg of a sock from my Favourite Socks book (I can’t leave the ‘u’ out!). Incidentally, I have also joined up for the KAL! It is a lacy pattern and looks a bit busy in the Socks That Rock Fairground colourway, but I like it anyway. I have to say, the Socks That Rock yarn is very nice to work with . . . but The Knittery Merino Cashmere Sock is quite comparable. If you are in the US, I would recommend trying it. There is not the variety of colour, but it is a delightful yarn to work with. And, she is selling blank yarn so if you are into dyeing, it would be a fabulous purchase!!

I had better go and write!

pen.jpg

3 Responses to "knitterly letter swap!"

Great Swap idea. I love my blog too. I can have a bazillion pictures of The Labradors: indulge myself to my heart’s content!! Oh, yes, and I have met and re-met lovely people too!! Fantastic news about the cardigan. Will need a photo soon!! I agree that The Knittery wool is excellent. I have some put away still to knit!!!

A knitting pen pal from Canada sounds like fun. Hope you can talk her into starting a blog. 😉

I signed up, too…I’m in the States, and the person I’m writing to is in the UK. Fun! She’s blogless, too. It would be great if she had a blog so I could “meet” her through her posts and photos. But then again, that’s what letter writing is for, right? I’ll stop by again soon!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,196 hits
