amanda j

i will survive . . .

Posted on: March 17, 2007

. . . but only just. I have no voice whatsoever. Well, I can whisper, but that’s it. And I think it might just drive me insane. I am a talker. I like to talk. My job requires that I talk A LOT. At the moment, I am trying to work out how I can wrangle my OWN kids, let alone about 200 of other people’s on Monday. I am hoping a quiet weekend will fix the problem – I need to go and learn how to use my voice properly, or I will really have to find ways to knit for food!

In other news, thanks to a heads up from Katt, my SuperSpunk set off to the City Mission shop and bought me a huge bag of raw fleece, in a lovely chocolate brown. That has staved of the mild feeling of panic I had about what would happen when I ran out of fleece. I have been harassing people for information about sheep owners. I have been calling local businesses and not so local businesses. The issue (not problem, I like it this way!) with living in Tassie is that we work hard to ensure our environmental problems are kept to a minimum, and therefore buying raw fleece from the mainland is not an option due to quarantine restrictions. I will just have to be resourceful. Either that or convert the back yard. What do you think? Suburban sheep. They would love the view!

Happy St Patrick’s Day! My Irish heritage includes a number of transported convicts, which I think is interesting in the extreme. There are also English and Scottish convicts and one or two free settlers, but on the whole, I am fairly concentrated Tasmanian convict stock. Because I have no photos of my own, I have lifted one from somewhere else today:

This guy is not one of my ancestors, but he would have known one, because he was transported on the same ship. Lucky for us, the Brits were very thorough and made lots of notes and lists and it is quite easy to do some research on convicts in Tasmania. The ship these two were transported on was called the Pestongee Bomangee. I have no idea why! Cool huh? To be sure. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

8 Responses to "i will survive . . ."

At first I was afraid, I was petrified….When I was in Grade 2 we had Speeck and Drmam lessons and we learned how to ‘project our voices’ without shouting. In my class no-one could EVER say they didn’t hear me!! I did lose my voice though and it’s a big nuisance, hope it returns soon.
I do understand about our quarantine and I applaud the banning of things that could hurt our environment but sometimes it’s just inconvenient!! Happy Spinning. Happy St Pat’s Day: My great grandfather’s surname was…GREEN!!

I have sheep in my backyard…Two (normally three but the landlord has hired out one to a friend of theirs)…they keep half the backyard short for us (huge backyard and all)…

My parents have sheep..if you ever worry about lack of fleece let me know I can talk to them about sale of fleece..they have like 10 sheep…They dont know how to spin yet (might have to teach them after you teach me..they have a wheel at least)..

I lost my voice once when I was little..my mum always said she looked forward to the day but when it happened..she hated it! lol

really about the fleece? I got some raw alpaca sent to me from Canada! It made it through! Though Vicki might have washed it..I dont think she did though..must hunt it out.

Katt

Knitting for food? What a concept. I’m afraid at the rate I crank out FO’s I’d be starving. Interesting that there are quarantine issues between Oz proper and Tasmania. What about from the U.S.?

get better soon Amanda!

Hope the voice got back ok, and thanks for the blog comment. 🙂 Wow, didn’t realise the internal quarantine restrictions applied to fleece. I do remember having to eat my way through a large number of apples before going back into Victoria from Launceston once, though.

My convicts are English, but I’ve got an Irish Orphan Girl. All my Tasmanians are Scots, though. In my family we get to celebrate the whole of the British Isles (my first fleeter was a Welsh marine). We have precious few photos, either. My favourite records are those of the convict tattoos.

My mother in law used to spin and knit the yarn into jumpers and sell them, I am pretty certain that she sourced her fleece through the spinners and weavers guild. Not sure of how to contact them though.

I just recently went to a family reunion on my dads side and my ancestor was an officer who ended up marrying a convict in Hobart, it was really fascinating stuff.

We have read posts related to genealogy on your blog and have just launched family based social network, Kincafe- http://www.kincafe.com. We would like you to particpate in beta release of Kincafe and provide feedback to andy@kincafe.com.

Hello Everyone,

I am a golfer myself and I like to play whenever I get a chance.
A short while ago, a very good friend of mine told me about a great golfing equipment and accessories website that has discounted prices on all their products, same day shipping in most cases and there is no state sales tax, they are paying that.
So if any golfer here is ready to save some money on quality products at highly discounted prices, you might want to check out their site at; http://hoffmangolf.com

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,180 hits
