amanda j

ebony and ivory

Posted on: March 12, 2007

As promised . . . some pictures! I went to the sheepy shop Saturday morning and bought another bag of raw white fleece, and some carded washed brown fleece.

 

That’s my fleece up a tree!

Then I went to a discount store and bought a better comb than the one I had, and I combed and combed and combed. It was quite fun actually, apart from the splinter in my finger and the smell of lanolin. I fluctuate between thinking it is not so bad and gagging. I combed and I combed until I thought I had enough fibre to spin. Then I set about spinning. Then I combed some more, and then I spun some more. Then I plied and skeined, then I soaked and washed and then I hung it out to dry. Then I made a ball. Then I knitted. Here is what it looks like:

The yarn is very lumpy, and I think it will be a scarf. I think I will knit it and then dye it. I know that’s backwards, but there you go. Why be like everyone else?

Yesterday I went to the large retail outlet that happens to sell yarn, and bought lots of things. I bought two balls of Patonyle in the light grey – they are completely out now and I can’t believe they won’t be getting any more. What will I do for cheap sock yarn that is great for gifted socks? I also bought three balls of Inca which is rapidly becoming a skinny rib scarf:

And I bought enough Zhivago in brown to make myself a cardigan, which I might just start tonight. Amongst all of this, I have not met my goal of finishin a pair of socks, but I am well on the way down the foot on the two at once RPMs, so the end is in sight! This afternoon I could not hold back any longer and started spinning this:

That is the black alpaca fibre that Mother and the kids got for me last weekend. It is not as consistent as it could be, but I am getting there. There is only 100g of this, and I have no idea how much yarn that will make! I am thinking it might become a lacy holey scarf if I can get enough yarn. Otherwise, it might just be something I pat!

5 Responses to "ebony and ivory"

Wow! You certainly have been busy! Love the photos too!

Nicely done, I never even considered that lanolin has a smell. I assume it’s something akin to a wet dog?

How exciting, your own wool spun with your own lily white hands!! Good bargains too. No more Patonyle, very sad.

I have something that might interest you..Its a bribe of sorts!

Love the scarf so far! And I got some greyish brownish dont know what to call it Patonyle the other week.

So are they not making it anymore (patonyle) or is spotlight not carrying it anymore? (and my sock wool is as cheap as buying enough patonyle to knit a pair of socks! lol).

Katt

I weighed up all my fleece the other day….Just a bit over 6.6kg!!! And I sorted it into colour lots too…

Want me to email you piccies?

Katt

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,250 hits
