amanda j

you spin me right ’round baby

Posted on: March 10, 2007

I have made yarn! But I can’t show you because Purl has gone to the coast with the camera! But trust me, I have. I have spun about half a bobbin with brown fleece and I am managing to be consistent most of the time. So my next task is to spin another half a bobbin and then ply them together.

I ended up going to a friend’s house last Saturday afternoon to learn to spin. I drooled over her lovely roving from Bendigo, in beautiful shades. She then showed me how to spin. Oh, it looked so easy. It isn’t easy at all. I couldn’t do a thing with the roving, but she had some raw fleece much like what I bought and showed me how to work with that. I also found out that all that washing was for nowt, as it is easier to spin with the lanolin still in the fleece because it sticks together.

Then, I had to go to Melbourne for three days. So that put my spinning plans on hold. I did however deliver these to my SIL.

I think she liked them. I am a bit glad I didn’t bother with anything too fancy. I am also quite sure this is her last pair of socks. Not nearly enough enthusiasm on receipt! Haha! Once bitten twice shy is my motto! The tiny little niece was very cute and sweet and so SO tiny compared to my thumping three babies!

SuperSpunk and I searched Melbourne for knitting books, and there were some, but certainly none I wanted. I had a very small wishlist – Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch, The Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns by Ann Budd, Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush, and The Twisted Sisters Sock Workbook by Lynne Vogel. There was NOTHING!! I was stunned. I have actually seen the Twisted Sister book in Launceston! Aargh! I will just have to buy from Amazon – I can get three books posted to Tasmania cheaper from Amazon than from Angus and Robertson online. How does that work? 

Anyhow, I have done a bit more spinning since returning home, but not much. I have been too tired. I am about to head down to the city to get some more fleece (no, I have not finished the fleece I have, but I don’t want to run out any time, do I?).

Oh! I just remembered that Mother took Purl and the kids to the Blessing of the Harvest at Longford last weekend and they bought me some carded alpaca that I have to leave alone until I am able to spin it properly. I think I will make it into a scarf or something, it is so soft! Black as night and really lovely and shiny! I am a lucky girl! If only I could show you a picture. Monday I promise!

Our weather has cooled enough to make sitting back in a chair comfortable again, so a goal for the long weekend is to finish a pair of socks. I am on the heel of the two at once RPM socks, and have done nearly three repeats on my second Monkey, so this should be achievable.

9 Responses to "you spin me right ’round baby"

I say only knit socks for those who REALLY love them and who appreciate the lovely feel of hand knitted socks and work that goes into them 😉

You didnt go to Bendigo while in Vic? I know if I ever get up there nothing will keep me from going to Bendigo!! lol

Cant wait to see your spun yarn!

I know the weather has cooled down nicely and knitting is fun again (typical demand knitting and hot weather stop at the same time!! SIGH)…

I am with you. If I dont get enough excitment from my knitting. A person doesnt get a second chance with me. My parents dont go over the hill excited but I know they will use it, we are a knitwear family.

Happy knitting for this weekend. I am hoping to get a bit done. Will have to wait and see though.

Katt

Oh how absolutely exciting!! Spinning!! I am so impressed!!! Yes, if you knit someone socks they should worship you. Forever. A lot!!! Happy sock finishing!!

yes, I would not knit then any more socks, either. Great spinning action!

Artisan books is somewhere in Melbourne…but I think it may be Fitzroy or out a bit. It’s just wrong when you can’t get the knitting books you want!

People should swoon when given hand knit socks. Really.

I’m so proud of your spinning! Someday. . .

I agree with the above post people should swoon when they receive hand knit socks or anything else for that matter! The only person that I’ve knit socks for is my mom and that’s because she thinks I’m brilliant no matter what I do 😉

No more knitting for unenthused souls!!
Have you tried http://www.fishpond.com.au for the books you’re after?
I’ve ordered a fair whack of books from them, spend $50 and postage is FREE! I always do a comparison with Amazon though, but there’s only been two books that were a better deal there after I factored in shipping. You might be able to get more bang for your buck with Fishpond 🙂

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
