amanda j

all you need is love

Posted on: February 13, 2007

Happy Valentines Day to you all. I think it is important to celebrate love, in all its forms. I plugged ‘love’ into Dictionary.com, and among other things, this appeared:

strong predilection, enthusiasm, or liking for anything

This is what brings us all together. A love of knitting, crafting and belonging to a community of likeminded people. I have found the whole experience of becoming a knitblogger so uplifting. I read about people knitting on the other side of the world, and while I am struggling through the heat with a sock, there are people elsewhere knitting themselves emergency legwarmers to stave off the cold.

I have found podcasts about knitting, and regularly listen to people from all over the world talking about knitting and yarn and needles and patterns. The ideas and inspiration I get from listening and reading would have me knitting until the end of my days, even if I stopped reading and listening now. I want to knit with Schaeffer Anne and Socks that Rock. I want to dye my own yarn. I want to learn to spin. I want to read books by Elizabeth Zimmerman and Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. If you have never listened to a podcast, I would recommend doing so. You don’t need an ipod or an mp3 player, you can listen on your computer. My favourites are Sticks and String, Lime and Violet, Cast On, and It’s a Purl Man.

I hope that everyone has a lovely Valentine’s Day, doing what you love . . . knitting!

4 Responses to "all you need is love"

Thanks for the podcast suggestions! I agree, it’s an endless ocean of ideas out there.

I find it hard to give up the ABC and RN for a podcast!! I shall have to persevere. Have a great day tomorrow!!! Nice biscuit!!

one day i will get to listen to podcasts..i have to work out how to get them onto my puter.

so what did you get for Valenine’s Day?

Katt

Thank you for the podcast suggestions. I’ve heard about knitting podcasts but have never heard any of them and didn’t know where to start…now I do!
Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,151 hits
