amanda j

let’s get socked

Posted on: January 20, 2007

Well, I guess you found me! I have been blogging for a while now, and I am a little over blogger. I don’t know enough to be able to make it look as pretty as other people’s blogs, and I have been suffering from blog envy for a while, so I have made a move. Let’s see how we go! 

I have been listening, again, to podcast after podcast lately, and thanks to Julie I listened to Sticks and String, which is done by an Australian guy who knits and something he said resonated really well with me. He mentioned that knitting is for ‘me’, whether you intend on keeping the knitting or not. It is a chance to sit and just be. The process of knitting is something that I love very very much. It is something I love talking about, writing about, thinking about and doing. I guess if I felt like this about running, I would be a completely different shape! Hm.

Knitting to me is a meditative exercise. I like to look at knitting books. I like surfing knitting sites, both blogs and yarn stores and thanks to Lime and Violet I am starting to trawl through Etsy. At the moment, my issue is with socks, sock yarn, sock knitting, sock books, SOCKS SOCKS SOCKS! At the moment, I am knitting three pairs of socks, and I finished a pair last week out of some hand dyed yarn from Katt. They are yummy and based on this idea (scroll down!), but I made mine opposites so the holes swirl toward each other. I have knitted two other socks, both different and have cast on another red one. The purple one is Baudelaire, the red one is Pomatomus. The picture was taken on holiday at Bicheno, which was lots of fun and lovely and beachy and swimmy.

100_4871.jpg

Then last night I decided I would knit some socks for my sister in law who is due to have a baby in four weeks. She thinks she does not like hand made gifts. I will allow her to learn the difference between home made and hand made. My socks are nice. She will like them. If I have enough yarn I will knit a pair of baby socks to match! Cute!

I have not finished the fraternal socks on two circs, and I don’t know when I will. I am not loving them a bit. Not even a little bit. I have to think of something else to do with those Addis. Hm.

I have been very busy thinking about a sock pattern that I have designed on paper, and am dying to knit. However, I need to stick with the socks I am doing, and then I will treat myself with some sticky knitting and maybe, just maybe some sock yarn. I am thinking about ordering INTERNATIONALLY!! Woo hoo. I have ordered tshirts from 80s tees, but not yarn. We really are yarn starved in Australia.

Last night and this morning I knitted a tea cosy for one of my Mothers in Law. I will attempt to photograph this tomorrow. With my new blog here I am going to attempt to make prettier pictures. The tea cosy idea came from somewhere out there. I just had to make one. Weird. It is so cute I almost want to drink tea. Almost.

Anyway, let me know what you think of the new blog!

6 Responses to "let’s get socked"

What a beautiful new blog!! It is so pretty!!! Very nice socks too. Socks are a bit addictive aren’t they??
I am sure you will convert your sister-in-law: Handmade socks are so beautiful to wear. I can never really understand how they feel so fine!! Nice idea: booties to match!!
Oh, I especially enjoy the greeness at the side!!!

New blog looks great as do the socks. As for being yarn starved in AU…there are lots of really good sites that I’m sure will ship internationally as well as some on eBay and Etsy.

Lovely socks. I like having them; can’t stand knitting them. I hope you draw your sister in law over to the dark side. . .

oooooooooooh a new blog!!!

So which sock wool from me did you use for those pair of socks!?!? Show show show!! They will be the first pair of socks I will get to see made from wool I dyed!

Are you gonna be able to make it to door of hope on Tuesday? Bring little Purl (you both will be free for first visits)…

Socks look great..they are addictive arent they?

Katt

Love your new look blog! Can’t wait to see the tea cosy pic.

I love the new blog, and I am looking forward to seeing your tea cosy.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 41,155 hits
