amanda j

braggings of a proud mother

Posted on: April 26, 2009

If you are interested, here is the ABC coverage of the Dawn Service (scroll down to video). There is a close up of Purl – she is the dark haired gorgeous girl in the Akubra hat. I could barely cope with the whole thing! I was so proud I thought I might actually explode! She is enjoying herself immensely and has fallen in love with Turkey and the Turkish people.

Our staycation is going well. Tiny Madam has slept in a room by herself two nights in a row – for the first time ever! She is growing up! Yesterday we went to Kids Paradise and let them run loose. The Spunk and I had a very civilised coffee and next time might go a bit earlier for breakfast in the cafe there. Not too many people and the kids had a ball. Today we have a cooking class – ANZAC biscuits of course!

I am making a blanket with the brown yarn, and I think it will be quite good. Just a simple ripple stitch, but it looks effective and is a good colour for my lounge room:

p4250011

I haven’t been doing much work on the black jumper, except that I picked up around the neckline to make it into a cowl. I think I am not going to have enough yarn to make long sleeves, but that’s fine. The jumper will end up looking like a cross between Ingenue and something else entirely! It should be done soon I think. Perhaps I will work on it today. It is knitting weather, that’s for sure.

p4250013

See my slanty stitches? It must be something to do with the yarn – I don’t usually have this issue!

Student free day tomorrow. I had the kids convinced on Friday that we turn the music up loud and play football in the corridors. Sometimes this is not far from the truth. School is great without kids!

8 Responses to "braggings of a proud mother"

Glad the Staycation is wonderful!! I saw Purl(no longer Little) on Sue’s blog link thingy!! It is just wonderful, no wonder you are exploding with proudness!! I remember meeting Purl in her pram, my how she’s grown!! Nice idea to have a rug/blanket, I am never sure which to say.
Enjoy your SFD!! I am pretty sure these days are more tiring than teaching!!

Sounds like the staycation was great fun :)

The weather was lovely yesterday (especially the rain that poured down last night).

You will have to let me know how the jumper ends up in the Mousse..I have some in purple..its so soft..and lovely.

Dont blame you for being a very proud mum :) so you should be..

You naughty little teacher you!! LOL

Glad you’re coping with Emily’s absence – bragging is definitely allowed! After all, how many wedding photos did I show?

What a wonderful experience for Purl (and how excellent that she was on the telly!)

Hope you are rocking on today without the students!!

So cool! Growing up I had to wonder if the teachers let down their hair so to speak when the kids were away, and it is nice to know that those teacher day long things were probably not all nose to the grindstone and staid and pendantic. They needed a dose of fun too!

Brag on, you have every right! Congratulate Purl on her wonderful ambassadorship. Also, the Akubra looked great.

Hooray for both your girls.

The slanty stitches have to do with the twist in the yarn. I kind of like it when it happens — it’s yet another design feature.

Hi. I’m in South Africa and came across your blog while looking for a preemie beanie pattern. Love it. I’m in my 50s and have been knitting since I was 4. At one stage I knitted Intarsia style jerseys for shop but sadly, that job came to an end. I basically just knit for pleasure – and because I can’t stop!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 40,175 hits
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

