amanda j

milestones

Posted on: April 19, 2009

Two sleeps . . .

Here is the prize that Purl won last year – how amazing!

We had a meeting yesterday and talked through her itinerary. She leaves on Tuesday and won’t be back until 8 May. It’s the longest she has been away from home, and obviously the furthest. She is going to the dawn service at Gallipoli, through Belgium and France, following the trail of Frank MacDonald, one of the last surviving ANZACs. Today just about everyone we know flowed through the house starting at 9am to say Bon Voyage. I am fluctuating between panic, pride and have a constant lump in my throat. She is packed and ready. WHAT AN ADVENTURE.

I, of course, knitted through the meeting and barely elicited a glance from the others. They must be very well adjusted people. I am making another placket jumper for my friend’s son. It is coming along very nicely.

Number One Son turned 9 last week. Another milestone! He is growing to be such a lovely boy. We took him and his friends to see Monsters VS Aliens and it was great!

Here is Tiny Madam in her Oriental. I modified the pattern as it is intended for little teeny girls. I think she looks very cute. She is a teapot, not so short and not so stout.

Tipe me over . . .

Tip me over . . .

I am knitting furiously, because I have to finish all of everything I have before I can order more yarn. This, in my mind, includes re-knitting a Spunk sized jumper because I can’t live with the ugly neckline of the Seamless that I knitted recently.

However, if Mr Rudd manages to stimulate me in the next week all bets are off! Like many people, I am very excited that Bendigo has released Luxury yarn and it comes in 10 ply! Woo hooo! I have so much stuff in my Ravelry queue I barely know what to do first!

We have just had a lovely week off school, with a kind of do-nothing philosophy. It has been great. However, I probably should get going and organise myself for tomorrow. I will be on deck in twelve hours and have barely given school a thought! Time to start counting down to our next holiday! Six weeks . . .

I mentioned our trip away for the decade of wedded bliss. Here I am at Pyengana where we had lunch. Look at the green paddock! Imagine the smell of cow poo! It was lovely!

I love the smell of cow poo in the morning!

I love the smell of cow poo in the morning!

Happy Autumn!

5 Responses to "milestones"

I love that jumper, the colours pop! Gorgeous. And how exciting that Purl is finally off on her wonderful adventure.

We went to Pyengana during our honeymoon in 2000. It smelled like cow poo then too!!

Bon Voyage Little Purl, our best wishes and Labrador Tail wags go with you. Happy Birthday #1 Son and I love Tiny Madam’s style!!You look right at home there in the paddock!!! Happy Stimulation Package: I bought A Baby with mine!!!

Ooo! Hope you are coping all right with #1 being away!

Back to work? We return next week – after two weeks of holidays it’s always tough [and I've had three weeks due to being part time and a TAFE teacher not a school teacher]

Hear Purl being interviewed on the ABC yesterday – she sounded so grown up – and I know the man from Latrrobe – he will look after all the kids well! Knit furiously – it will be cold when she returns!

How exciting for your daughter to be travelling over there. I just discovered 2 weeks ago now while doing some family research that my great uncle died over there in WWI and is buried in the Torreken Farm cemetary in Belgium. He was only 23 years old and it makes me feel quite sad that he never lived a full life like many other soldiers who lost their lives so young. It makes me feel proud though that he was a very brave man who fought for our lives as they are today. I am sure that most of the people doing the same journey have an enormous amount of respect to do this and she will be fine amongst them, although I can imagine how nervous you would be feeling too.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 40,303 hits
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

