amanda j

owl be around more i hope!

Posted on: March 28, 2009

I won’t go into how long it has been since I blogged. Boring. I have been very busy.

Anyway, there has been much knitting. I have finished a Seamless Hybrid Sweater for the Spunk, and also a Seamless Raglan Sweater for him. I finished the orange cardigan except I haven’t put the buttons on it yet. It hasn’t been cold enough for a cardigan yet. I also finished an Owl jumper, which I love. I am sporadically adding buttons as eyes. Here is a picture.

owls

At the moment I am knitting a black jumper for Number One Son – it is turning out quite nicely! I am going to duplicate stitch a Decepticon logo on the front for him. I haven’t ever done that before, so that will be an adventure.

Next in the queue is a cardigan for Tiny Madam which shouldn’t take too long. Essentially this means that this year, I have made nearly four jumpers, three of them adult size! There have been no socks finished at all. All jumpers, all the time! All knit in one piece.

Since blogging last, we have been back to the coast twice – once with the two youngest children, and once with just the Spunk and I. We recently celebrated ten years of marriage! Where does time go?

We are both working full time this year, for the first time since before the Tiny Madam was born. We are managing quite well, but it is very tiring and VERY busy. Along with that comes some extra money (yay!) so the girls have started hip hop dancing, and the boy has started TaeKwonDo (I want to write RexKwonDo – thanks Napoleon Dynamite) which only serves to make us ever busier! It’s all good fun though!

Purl goes overseas in just over three weeks. She is very excited and so are we – if a little apprehensive.

14 Responses to "owl be around more i hope!"

Love the owls – very cool.

You have been busy, so don’t feel bad about not blogging!! Working, trips, knitting, driving kids to new classes, it all takes time.

Oooh, Purl’s trip is coming up – how exciting!!

LOVE your owls – you know that!
Glad you are blogging again ;-)

Owl be seeing you in all the old familiar places!!! Glad to see you back on your blog. You have been a jumper fiend this year and the Owls look fabulous.

RexKwonDo…LOL!! Classic and wasn’t Starla pretty? Yikes!!

I love the owl jumper, one of my faves, one piece jumper = good.

No seams for this chicky, no siree.

Congrats on 10 years of marriage. I guess once you have kids the time does fly by doesnt it. The owls look great and I cant wait to see the other finished ones too.

Lovely owls!

I can relate to the apprehension; I can remember DD’s first trip overseas [to Japan] when she was just 14! I think I became the mother from hell for a few minutes at the airport while talking to the team leader! Till I reined myself in after seeing the look on DD’s face!

the owls!! adorable. Purl going overseas. Geez, that will be fun. and not fun. I keep reminding myself that my first solo overseas trip was at 16, but I still freak out a little at the thought of my big kid doing it.

by the way, my hubby has been stuck in Burnie (working in Savage River) for like the last 6 weeks. You don’t live near Burnie, do ya?

Your owls are looking very fine, but I have to confess that I cannot be objective about this pattern…it reminds me (in a lateral association kind of way) of the book by Alan Garner ‘The Owl Service’ and if you’ve read it, you will know what I mean :)

I love that owls jumper. it looks so nice

You have been busy with the jumper knitting. it must be the time for it, its mostly what I have been knitting too this year.

I cant wait to see the decepticon jumper!!

those little owls are so cute!!!!!

The Owls is one of my favorite new-ish sweaters. But it has to wait until I work through some of the other projects in my list (silly deadline projects get in the way of knitting sweaters for me).

It’s some kind of weird zeitgeist thing — I’ve been musing on owls for a while.

Owlsowlsowls. . .

Busy makes less blogging — you’re doing a lot of good stuff. Hang in there.

I so love the owls – they have been on my queue for ages – and Purl heading off must be exciting for her, and nervewracking for you!

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

ribby pulli

last chance!

Picture 006

Alex's Jumper

Picture 006

More Photos

i am knitting

  • Pinwheel Blanket
  • Sassymetrical
  • Socks x 3
  • Button Me Up V2.0
  • i will knit

  • Flower Basket Shawl
  • Seamless Hybrid Sweater
  • Rogue
  • i knitted 08

  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Back to Basics III
  • Smooth Monkeys
  • Retro Rib Socks
  • Fetching I
  • Fetching II
  • Fetching III
  • Shalom
  • Wicked
  • Wickeder
  • Woodland Shawlette
  • Jumper for ILC
  • Socks for ILC
  • Hat for ILC
  • Booga Bag I
  • Booga Bag II
  • Washcloths for Mother
  • Mini Socks
  • Spunk Socks again
  • Cuzmo
  • Cozmo
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Shalom
  • Asymmetrical Cabled Cardi
  • Juliet
  • Liesl
  • Arch Socks
  • Button Me Up V1.0
  • Boy Teacher Cardigan
  • Camp Cowl
  • Felicity Hat
  • Zippity Blanket
  • Grandmother's Favourite Washcloth x 5
  • Apple Dishcloth x 2
  • Patonyle Socks
  • i knitted 07

  • Mother In Law Socks 2
  • Fon Sox
  • Elspiral Socks
  • I Can't Say No socks
  • Pomatomus
  • MIL1 Tea Cosy
  • MIL2 Tea Cosy
  • Green and Purple! socks
  • RPM socks
  • SIL socks
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan
  • Country Silk Cardigan
  • Monkey
  • Silver Scarf/Belt
  • Skinny Inca Scarf
  • Pink Fizzy Scarf
  • Super Spunk Socks
  • Diagonal Cross Rib Socks
  • Baudelaires
  • Mexicana Socks for Spunk
  • Opal Socks for Spunk
  • Jumper and Hat for Teeny Guy
  • Embossed Leaves Sockapaloozas
  • Socks for Robyn
  • Montego Bay Scarf
  • Sparkly Hat
  • Tiny Madam Cardigan 2
  • Waving Lace Socks
  • Swirly Girl Socks
  • Tiny Kevat Shawl
  • Baby Beanie
  • Embossed Leaves for Xmas
  • Mother's Back to Basics
  • Friend Back to Basics
  • Socks for Barb
  • Socks for MIL2
  • Socks for No1Son
  • Tea Cosy Swap Cosy
  • Visitors

    • 40,268 hits
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

